1. Edwin van der Sar
Will Edwin become the first goalkeeper since 1978 to win the award?

2. Rio Ferdinand
Can Rio emulate Gary Pallister's achievement in 1992?

3. Nemanja Vidic
Should Vida's colossal displays be rewarded with the trophy?

4. Ryan Giggs
Will Giggsy add the accolade to his vast array of honours?

5. Cristiano Ronaldo
Can Ronny make it three in a row?

16/04/2009 17:00, Report by Mike Shaw
1 of 2 Next 

Video: PFA contenders

The Reds have five players on the PFA Players' Player of the Year award shortlist, with only Liverpool's Steven Gerrard breaking the United monopoly. In Thursday's five at five free video, we looked at each of the nominees in action...

Edwin van der Sar
No goalkeeper has won the award since Peter Shilton inspired Nottingham Forest to the title in 1978, but with United's Dutch stopper in record-breaking form this season, it'd be fitting if he ended a superb campaign carrying off the prestigious award.

Rio Ferdinand
Our ultra-reliable stand-in skipper has enjoyed another season to remember. A huge part of United's remarkable run of clean sheets, Rio's influence was underlined by his return to the fold on Wednesday, looking calm and assured as the Reds knocked out Porto.

Nemanja Vidic
The other half of United's rock-solid centre-back pairing, Vidic has combined sterling defensive work with a career-best six goals this term, including openers against Chelsea and Inter, and a winner against Sunderland. Hotly tipped, but he'd be only the third defender to win the trophy since 1992.

Ryan Giggs
The Reds stalwart won back-to-back Young Player awards in 1992

1 of 2 Next 


Premier League