"I have loved playing for my country and I have loved captaining my country. [Retiring from the Wales team] wasn't an easy decision."

- Ryan Giggs, May 2007

25/03/2011 15:39, Report by Adam Marshall
1 of 3 Next 

United's Welsh Dragons

As Wales and England meet, we look at the United men who've played for the principality through the years...

Ryan Giggs' international retirement means that United's connections with Wales' senior side are, for now, consigned to the past.

The evergreen winger tops our list of Welsh Reds but before we look at the stellar quintet in more detail, there are plenty of their compatriots deserving of honourable mentions. Alan Davies won 13 Welsh caps, his first coming soon after he played in the 1983 FA Cup final, while namesakes Simon Davies and Ron Davies made one Wales appearance apiece during their United careers in the 1990s and 1970s respectively.

Brothers Jack and Roger Doughty were among Newton Heath’s Welsh internationals while pre-war United representatives included Harry Thomas, Tom Jones and Jack Warner. Cardiff-born striker Colin Webster played in the 1958 World Cup after appearing in the FA Cup final for United earlier that year, while Graham Moore won two caps whilst at Old Trafford in the 1960s.

Robbie Savage made all of his 39 international appearances after leaving United and it’s worth remembering Jimmy Murphy actually combined his assistant manager duties at Old Trafford with an eight-year stint in charge of Wales, including their only World Cup finals campaign in 1958.

With Giggs now concentrating on his domestic career, it’s left to 17-year-old Tom Lawrence to carry the torch with the Wales Under-21s.

Ryan Giggs (1991-2007 – 64 caps / 12 goals)
While the Reds legend is arguably the greatest-ever player from Wales, it’s fair to say his best moments have been at club level. However, he was his country's youngest ever player against Germany in 1991 and was absolutely outstanding in his second game against Belgium. It was nine years before he played in a

1 of 3 Next 


Premier League