FIFA Puskas (World Goal of the Year) Award

The shortlist for 2011 is as follows:

Wayne Rooney - United, vs Man City
Benjamin De Ceulaer - Lokeren, vs Brugge
Giovani dos Santos - Mexico, vs USA
Julio Gómez - Mexico, vs Germany U17
Zlatan Ibrahimović - Milan, vs Lecce
Lisandro López - Arsenal (Argentina) vs Olimpo
Lionel Messi - Barcelona, vs Arsenal
Neymar - Santos, vs Flamengo
Heather O'Reilly - USA, vs Colombia
Dejan Stanković - Inter, vs Schalke

To see all the goals and vote for the best, visit the Ballon D'Or section of FIFA.com.

21/11/2011 15:06, Report by J Perry, A Bostock
1 of 2 Next 

World goal of the year?

It decided the Manchester derby, it helped propel United towards the 19th league title, it was named Goal of the Season on ManUtd.com... now could Wayne Rooney's spectacular overhead kick against Manchester City win FIFA's Goal of the Year award for 2011?

The FIFA Puskas Award - to use its official title - is named after Hungary and Real Madrid legend Ferenc Puskas, himself no slouch when it came to scoring in eye-catching style. Conceived in 2009, the award's aim - according to FIFA.com - is to identify the greatest worldwide goal of the calendar year based on "its aesthetic quality and the importance of the match in which it was scored, as well as the absence of luck or mistakes by the opposing team."

As you can see again in our free video, Rooney's derby winner ticks all the boxes but will fans vote it first above nine other goals shortlisted by the FIFA Football Committee? We'll find out at the FIFA Ballon d’Or Gala 2011 on 9 January 2012.

To cast your vote and hopefully help Wayne win the award, visit the Ballon d'Or section on FIFA.com. Voting closes on 5 December.

1 of 2 Next 


Premier League