04/07/2014 10:20, Report by Adam Marshall
2 of 2 Previous 

Chance beckons for Reds

During the successful 1966 campaign in England, Charlton and Stiles were in the side that defeated 10-man Argentina 1-0 in a stormy affair at Wembley. In 1970, Charlton featured in the last eight for a third occasion but was substituted with England 2-1 ahead, only for West Germany to triumph 3-2 after extra time.

No Red appeared in a World Cup quarter-final during the 1980s, although this was complicated by a change in format as Northern Ireland and England both made a second group stage in 1982 but did not qualify for the semi-finals. Bryan Robson missed the 1986 defeat to Argentina and win over Cameroon in 1990 due to injury.

So, 28 long years after United's previous last-eight representative, Peter Schmeichel kept goal for Denmark in a 3-2 loss to Brazil, Rivaldo scoring twice in Nantes. There was more disappointment against the Selecao in 2002 as an England side containing David Beckham, Paul Scholes and Nicky Butt crashed out 2-1 with Rivaldo again on the mark.

There was finally some joy in 2006 but it came at the expense of Wayne Rooney, Rio Ferdinand and Gary Neville as Ronaldo's Portugal won on penalties. Ronaldo hit the decisive spot-kick after Rooney was sent off. Over in Berlin, Gabriel Heinze played the full 120 minutes before Argentina went out to Germany in another shoot-out. Meanwhile, Saha came on for matchwinner Thierry Henry for the final five minutes as France edged Brazil 1-0 to become one of only four Reds to take part in a World Cup quarter-final success.

2 of 2 Previous 


Premier League