United's PFA winners

PFA Players' Player of the Year

United players have won the award 11 times since its inception in 1973/74.

2009/10 Wayne Rooney
2008/09 Ryan Giggs
2007/08 Cristiano Ronaldo
2006/07 Cristiano Ronaldo
2001/02 Ruud van Nistelrooy
2000/01 Teddy Sheringham
1999/00 Roy Keane
1993/94 Eric Cantona
1991/92 Gary Pallister
1990/91 Mark Hughes
1988/89 Mark Hughes
25/04/2010 22:00, Report by Ben Hibbs
1 of 2 Next 

Wayne lands PFA award

Wayne Rooney has been named Professional Footballers' Association Players' Player of the Year - winning the prestigious award as voted for by his peers for the first time in his career.

The 24 year-old beat fellow nominees Didier Drogba, Cesc Fabregas and Carlos Tevez and was presented with the trophy at Sunday night's ceremony.

Rooney has had an incredible season, scoring 34 goals in 42 league appearances - his best return since joining United in 2004.

The Reds no.10 started the 2009/10 campaign by scoring seven goals in eight games, and he hasn't looked back. His best spell came between the end of November and March, scoring an astonishing 25 goals in 23 games.

The PFA trophy remains in a United player's hands for a fourth consecutive year, after wins for Cristiano Ronaldo (2007, 2008) and Ryan Giggs (2009).

Rooney, who has said that he expects to play again for United this season, was also nominated for the Young Player of

1 of 2 Next 


Premier League