30/04/2010 08:04, Report by Nick Coppack

Wayne's a winner... again

England's top scribes have honoured Wayne Rooney by voting him Football Writers' Association Footballer of the Year.

Rooney, who's netted 34 goals for United this season, polled a remarkable 80 per cent of the vote, leaving him way ahead of Chelsea's Didier Drogba and Manchester City's Carlos Tevez. This latest individual honour comes in the same week the 24-year-old picked up the players' and fans' awards from the Professional Footballers' Association.

Of the FWA award, Rooney said: "I'm delighted to win an award with so much history and tradition," he said. "To follow a long line of wonderful players who have been honoured by the FWA since 1948 gives me real pride.

"I would like to take this opportunity to thank Sir Alex Ferguson, the coaching staff and my team-mates, without whose help and support this award would not have been possible."

Wayne is the eighth Manchester United player to win the award since its inception, following in the footsteps of Johnny Carey (1948), Bobby Charlton (1966), George Best (1968), Eric Cantona (1996), Roy Keane (2000), Teddy Sheringham (2001) and Cristiano Ronaldo (2007, 2008).

FWA chairman and The People journalist Steve Bates said Rooney was a worthy winner of the prestigious award.

"The margin of his victory is testimony to the marvellous season he has had for club and country. His tally of 34 goals so far this season is certain to have captured the attention of our members but I am sure the overall improvement in his game at Manchester United has been of equal significance.

"Wayne's enthusiasm, hunger and desire mark him out as a special player."


Premier League