Previous winners

Jimmy Murphy Young Player of the Year

1990 Lee Martin 
1991 Ryan Giggs 
1992 Ryan Giggs 
1993 Paul Scholes 
1994 Phil Neville 
1995 Terry Cooke 
1996 Ronnie Wallwork 
1997 John Curtis 
1998 Wes Brown 
1999 Wes Brown 
2000 Bojan Djordjic 
2001 Alan Tate 
2002 Paul Tierney 
2003 Ben Collett 
2004 Jonathan Spector 
2005 Giuseppe Rossi 
2006 Darron Gibson 
2007 Craig Cathcart 
2008 Danny Welbeck 
2009 Federico Macheda
2010 William Keane

04/05/2010 21:35, Report by Adam Bostock

Award joy for Keane

Probably the greatest day of William Keane's United career so far was capped on Tuesday night when he received the Jimmy Murphy Young Player of the Year award.

Hours earlier, the Stockport-born striker scored as the Under-18s clinched the regional championship by beating Everton 2-0. Now a national play-off semi-final against Arsenal beckons for Keane and co, as his debut season as an academy scholar reaches an exciting climax.

The team's proud coach Paul McGuinness told MUTV, "Will has been such a smooth operator in his first year. He's been really outstanding and has scored some stunning goals but his general team play and his demeanour, his attitude on and off the pitch, have been excellent."

Will was presented with his trophy by the academy manager, and appropriately a former United striker, Brian McClair. Congratulations to Will and the other nominees, Nicky Ajose and Scott Wootton.


Premier League