23/05/2011 22:07, Report by Adam Bostock
1 of 2 Next 

Sir Alex lands LMA awards

Sir Alex Ferguson has been voted Manager of the Year by his peers in the League Managers' Association (LMA). The award, sponsored by Barclays, is voted for by bosses from all four divisions in the English league.

The award is recognition for the Reds' success in winning the Barclays Premier League title, the 12th championship of Sir Alex's reign and the 19th in the club's history, as well as reaching this Saturday's UEFA Champions League final - United's third final in four seasons.

In addition to the LMA Manager of the Year, Sir Alex was also awarded the LMA Special Merit Award. During the season, he set two very distinguished personal records by surpassing 2000 games in management and becoming the longest serving manager in United’s history. If the Reds do go on to beat Barcelona in the Champions League final, he would also equal Bob Paisley’s record of three triumphs in Europe’s most prestigious club tournament.

On receiving the awards, Sir Alex said: “It is wonderful and a great honour to be acknowledged by your peers. I really do appreciate being named LMA Manager of the Year and being honoured with the LMA Special Merit Award. It’s been such a competitive Barclays Premier League this season and I’d like to congratulate all of the managers both in this league and throughout the divisions, on a job well done this season.

"The work the LMA are doing and the foresight they are showing is fantastic. We have to support the belief that we are doing the right things and the help that we can give to all facets of the game. We are getting more recognition now and quite rightly so because we have a great contribution to make.”

Howard Wilkinson, LMA chairman, said: “Sir Alex is fully deserving of this recognition, once again he has demonstrated genius at critical moments this season. It’s not just his longevity in the game at one of the world’s biggest club’s which is

1 of 2 Next 


Premier League