09/01/2012 19:18, Report by Adam Bostock
1 of 2 Next 

FIFA honour Reds trio

Manchester United's record-breaking 2011 was acknowledged by the football world on Monday evening at FIFA's Ballon d'Or gala.

After a year in which he led the club to a historic 19th league championship and celebrated 25 years as United manager, Sir Alex Ferguson received the Presidential Award. Meanwhile two members of his title-winning squad - Nemanja Vidic and Wayne Rooney - were named in the FIFA/FIFPro World XI, a select side of players considered to be the best in their positions in the world.

"This is very much appreciated," said Sir Alex on receiving his award in Zurich. "No matter the honour I get, I feel it's recognition for the 25 years of Manchester United. They always shared my vision and passion. I’ve been a very lucky manager. That makes Manchester United such a special club. The courage to play and the courage to try and win is more important than anything."

Rooney also featured in the FIFA Puskas Award - for the best goal scored in the world in 2011 - with his acrobatic winner against Manchester City last February making the top three. However, like Lionel Messi, Wayne was pipped to this honour by Neymar's solo effort in Santos' 5-4 defeat to Flamengo.

1 of 2 Next 

FIFA Ballon d'Or Awards

The 2011 winners included:

Presidential Award - Sir Alex Ferguson

Player of the Year - Lionel Messi

Coach of the Year - Pep Guardiola

Goal of the Year - Neymar

Discuss these awards and the FIFA/FIFPro World XI on Talking Reds.


Premier League