29/04/2013 10:28, Report by Adam Marshall

Boss has four candidates

Sir Alex Ferguson has narrowed his personal short-list for the Manchester United Player of the Year award down to four names.

The Reds boss was asked for his views on the candidates for the Sir Matt Busby trophy, with voting on the prestigious award starting on Monday for fans across the globe.

"I think we've got two developing players, first of all, in Rafael and David De Gea," explained Sir Alex. "They have had outstanding seasons.

"Then there is Michael Carrick and Robin van Persie. That is the four and I wouldn't like to choose between them. I think they have definitely elevated themselves this season."

Click here to register your vote.

More: Ice-cool RvP earns praise | Report: Arsenal 1 United 1

Last 10 Sir Matt Busby Player of the Year winners

2012: Antonio Valencia
2011: Javier Hernandez
2010: Wayne Rooney
2009: Nemanja Vidic
2008: Cristiano Ronaldo
2007: Cristiano Ronaldo
2006: Wayne Rooney
2005: Gabriel Heinze
2004: Cristiano Ronaldo
2003: Ruud van Nistelrooy


Premier League