19/04/2013 12:00, Report by Nick Coppack
1 of 2 Next 

Reds trio up for PFA awards

Manchester United stars Robin van Persie and Michael Carrick are both in the running for the Professional Footballers' Association's prestigious Player of the Year award, while Danny Welbeck has earned a nomination in the Young Player category.

Striker van Persie won the main honour last term, playing for Arsenal, and is bidding to become only the third man – after Thierry Henry in 2002/03 and 2003/04 and Cristiano Ronaldo in 2006/07 and 2007/08 – to win the award in back-to-back seasons.

In 2012/13, the Dutchman's goals – 25 in all competitions – have fired United towards Barclays Premier League glory. He's featured in all 33 of the Reds' league games and only Liverpool's Luis Suarez (also nominated) has netted more times in the competition.

Michael Carrick's understated and unspectacular approach to the game usually doesn't earn him many Player of the Year nominations, but few will argue with his inlcusion this season. A constant in Sir Alex's midfield, Carrick anchors United superbly, offering protection in front of the back four and incisive passing in the opposition half.

As well as Suarez, van Persie and Carrick find themselves up against Spurs' Gareth Bale and Cheslea

1 of 2 Next 


Player of the Year
Gareth Bale (Tottenham)
Michael Carrick (United)
Eden Hazard (Chelsea)
Juan Mata (Chelsea)
Luis Suarez (Liverpool)
Robin van Persie (United) 

Young Player of the Year
Gareth Bale (Tottenham)
Christian Benteke (Aston Villa)
Eden Hazard (Chelsea)
Romelu Lukaku (West Brom)
Danny Welbeck (United)
Jack Wilshere (Arsenal)


Premier League