Papers: Ref was wrong
Dean was wrong to award City's penalty
Mike Dean's decision to award Manchester City a penalty in the 42nd minute sparked vehement protests from the visitors. Dean gave the spot-kick after United full back Rafael tugged Craig Bellamy’s shirt as the City attacker attempted to go past his man. If there is a foul on an attacker which starts outside the penalty area and continues inside then a penalty should be awarded. If the foul is committed outside the area and the player falls inside the box then a free-kick outside is correct. If there are two fouls, one outside and one inside then the referee, who has played advantage after the first offence, should award a penalty. Dean thought that last scenario occurred last night and therefore awarded a penalty, which Carlos Tevez clinically converted. I struggled to see the second foul inside the area but Dean clearly felt otherwise as he explained his decision to the furious United players.Graham Poll (former FIFA referee), Daily Mail
Another flashpoint in the first leg, the trading of "provocative gestures" (The Independent
) between Carlos Tevez and Gary Neville, features in most of the national papers. The FA have since confirmed they will "look into" the United captain's part in the exchange.
Away from the match reports and the predictable pieces about a power shift in Manchester, there is transfer talk - one in, one out, both with Spanish connections. The Mail
claims, "United's uncertain financial future has prompted Spanish giant Barcelona to try to unsettle Old Trafford’s most valuable asset, Wayne Rooney."
The Mirror believes United "are in talks" with Racing Santander attacking midfielder Sergio Canales. Alan Nixon writes, "Both United and Chelsea want to tie him up now - as they are free to speak to him because his deal is expiring (in the summer)."