Manager Profile

Sir Alex Ferguson

Premier League1993, 1994, 1996, 1997, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2003, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2011, 2013
FA Cup1990, 1994, 1996, 1999, 2004
League Cup1992, 2006, 2009, 2010
UEFA Champions League1999, 2008
FIFA Club World Cup2008
UEFA Super Cup1992
UEFA Cup Winners Cup1991
Inter-Continental Cup1999
FA Charity / Community Shield1990 (shared), 1993, 1994, 1996, 1997, 2003, 2007, 2008, 2010, 2011

Sir Alex Ferguson is the most successful manager in British football history, winning almost 40 trophies – including 13 Premier League titles – during his time in charge of Manchester United.

He arrived at Old Trafford on 6 November 1986 and retired at the end of the 2012/13 season.

Ferguson enjoyed a playing career in Scotland that saw him take in spells with Queen's Park, St Johnstone, Dunfermline, Glasgow Rangers, Falkirk and Ayr United. But it is not for his playing of the game that Sir Alex was to become a success.

Following a spell out of the game he moved into coaching, taking up the role of manager of East Stirlingshire, St Mirren then Aberdeen. It was his time at Pittodrie where he earned his reputation as a top coach. He broke the Glasgow dominance of Scottish football to lead Aberdeen to three Scottish titles, four Scottish cups, one League Cup and one European Cup Winners’ Cup.

Following the sacking of Ron Atkinson as manager of Manchester United in 1986, the Old Trafford hierarchy moved quickly for his services.

Ferguson inherited a dispirited team of underachievers who had consistently, to their supporters’ discontent, failed to break Liverpool’s domination. Stuck in the

1 of 5 Next