14/07/2010 15:25, Report by Steve Bartram

Ole rates Reserves revamp

Ole Gunnar Solskjaer is delighted with this season's changes to the format of Reserves football.

Previously split into north and south divisions, the Barclays Premier Reserve League has three sub-divisions this term, with the northern section split in two.

United are in Northern Group A alongside Bolton, Manchester City, Newcastle and Wigan. The Reds will play each team twice, and will make up the rest of the league season with single matches against each Northern Group A and Southern Group teams.

"We’re split into three groups now and we manage to play all the teams, which will be great," Ole told ManUtd.com. "It’ll be a good experience for the players to come up against Arsenal, Chelsea, Villa… all those teams.

"Sometimes you can grow stale by playing against the same teams three or four times a season, as we can in the league and cups, and it’s always good to get different experiences and test themselves against different teams."

Northern Group A: Bolton Wanderers, Manchester City, Manchester United, Newcastle United, Wigan Athletic.
Northern Group B: Blackburn Rovers, Blackpool, Everton, Liverpool, Sunderland.
Southern Group: Arsenal, Aston Villa, Chelsea, West Bromwich Albion, West Ham United, Wolverhampton Wanderers.

Check out United's full 2010/11 fixture list.


Premier League