Nemanja Matic in action for Serbia

Which United players are going to the World Cup?

Thursday 24 May 2018 19:35

A number of Manchester United players can look forward to playing at the World Cup finals, after being selected in their respective countries’ squads.

Eleven of United's first-team players have been called up for this summer’s tournament, which begins on 14 June and lasts for a month. The final 23-man squads for all 32 competing nations will be published by FIFA on 4 June.

Despite fitness concerns in recent weeks, both Romelu Lukaku and Marouane Fellaini have been named in Belgium's provisional 28-man squad - as has former Reds star Adnan Januzaj, while goalkeeper David De Gea has been called up for Spain, who won the tournament in 2010. 

Nemanja Matic is part of Serbia's provisional 26-man squad, as he prepares to be involved in the first major international tournament of his career.

Phil Jones, Ashley Young, Jesse Lingard and Marcus Rashford have all been included in England’s provisional 23-man squad by Gareth Southgate. 

It will be a first major tournament for Lingard, while Young will go to his first World Cup following another consistent season with United. It is a testament to the durability of our versatile full-back, who has been a regular in the England squad this season and turns 33 in July. 

Jones, who went to Euro 2012 and World Cup 2014, has fought off plenty of competition for a centre-back slot. Meanwhile, Rashford is set to play in his second major tournament, after becoming the youngest Englishman to appear at a European Championship, at the age of 18, in 2016. 


Marcos Rojo is in Argentina’s 23-man squad for the tournament but Sergio Romero was sadly forced to withdraw on 23 May after sustaining an injury in training. This will be Rojo's second World Cup after being involved in 2014, when La Albiceleste were runners-up after losing the final 1-0 to Germany after extra time.

Victor Lindelof has also been included in the Sweden squad, as the defender prepares for his second major tournament after featuring at Euro 2016. 

Paul Pogba has made France’s 23-man squad and the midfielder will go to his third consecutive major tournament with Les Bleus, who reached the quarter-finals of the 2014 World Cup in Brazil and were runners-up of Euro 2016 as hosts. But, given the fierce competition for places in the squad, Anthony Martial has had to settle for a place on the 11-man standby list selected by coach Didier Deschamps.


At the time of writing, the following players have been called up for their respective nations...

Marcos Rojo (Argentina)
Phil Jones (England)
Ashley Young (England)
Jesse Lingard (England)
Marcus Rashford (England)
Victor Lindelof (Sweden)
Paul Pogba (France)
David De Gea (Spain)
Marouane Fellaini (Belgium)
Romelu Lukaku (Belgium)
Nemanja Matic (Serbia)

This story was first published on 16 May.