Bruno Fernandes.

Bruno follows in van Nistelrooy's footsteps

Tuesday 18 May 2021 14:21

Bruno Fernandes has emulated Ruud van Nistelrooy's achievement of winning the Sir Matt Busby Player of the Year award in both of his first two seasons with Manchester United.

The Portugal international won last year's accolade despite only joining the club during the January window and came out on top again in 2020/21, ahead of his nearest challenger Luke Shaw, following a vote by supporters in our Official App.

In doing so, he becomes only the fifth man to retain the trophy and only he and Ruud have managed it in their first two campaigns as a Red.

Sir Matt Busby Player of the Year revealed


Our Portuguese magnifico Bruno Fernandes is unveiled as the 2020/21 winner to follow up last year's success.

Van Nistelrooy's delayed move to Old Trafford finally happened in 2001 and, after scoring on his debut against Liverpool in the Charity Shield, he never looked back, scoring 23 goals in 32 Premier League matches in his first season, including finding the net in eight successive matches.

In the following campaign, 2002/03, he pipped Arsenal's Thierry to the Golden Boot as United won the title, and was also prolific in the Champions League.

A couple of years before the Dutchman arrived on the scene, Roy Keane was the first man to lift the Sir Matt Busby trophy in successive campaigns, following his efforts as captain in the Treble-winning campaign and 1999/2000.

Cristiano Ronaldo won it in 2007 and 2008 while David De Gea is the only player to triumph for three consecutive years - 2014, 2015 and 2016.

The keeper's unique feat includes going back to cover the records of the Supporters' Club Player of the Year.

Ruud was a guest on UTD Podcast and discussed his early days at Old Trafford.

Cultured centre-back Paul McGrath won the award in both seasons when it was the Sharp Player of the Year (1985/86 and 1986/87).

Scots Willie Morgan, Lou Macari and Joe Jordan also collected the old Supporters Club's Player of the Year for two years on the trot in the 1970s and early 1980s but, like McGrath, this was not in their first two campaigns at Old Trafford.

The question is now: Can Bruno make it three in a row to match David's stand-alone achievement?