Confirmed: United XI to face Granada

Thursday 08 April 2021 18:45

Manchester United manager Ole Gunnar Solskjaer has named his team to face Granada in our UEFA Europa League quarter-final first leg in Spain.

The boss has made three changes to the side that beat Brighton 2-1 at Old Trafford on Sunday, including in goal where David De Gea comes in for Dean Henderson, who is on the bench.

In front of De Gea the back four is unchanged, with Victor Lindelof lining up alongside skipper Harry Maguire in the centre of defence, with Aaron Wan-Bissaka and Luke Shaw operating either side.

Scott McTominay partners Paul Pogba in the middle of the park instead of Fred, while the other change sees Daniel James replace Edinson Cavani. The Uruguayan joins Henderson, Fred and teenager Anthony Elanga among our 12 substitutes.

Joining James in attack are Bruno Fernandes, Marcus Rashford and, at the spearhead, Mason Greenwood.

Speaking to MUTV and BT Sport about his selections, Ole said: “We want to have a good result, a few players have had a rest over the international break and we felt this is a team to get us a good result to take back to Manchester.”

On the return of David De Gea to the starting XI, he added: “David is a fantastic ‘keeper and I was thinking surely, he wants to prove to his fellow countrymen how good he is. David tonight is sure to play a good game or I hope so and then you’ll probably see him more often as well.

“Yeah, of course he wants to play, he wants to play every game but definitely here is Spain. I’m sure he wants to prove to the Man United fans but also his fellow countrymen that he’s a good goalkeeper.”

For Granada, former Spurs striker and joint top scorer Roberto Soldado leads the line for the Spanish side, who also give a start to Chelsea loanee Kenedy. Their other joint top scorer, Jorge Molina, starts on the bench.


Granada: Silva; Neva, Duarte, Vallejo, Diaz (c); Gonalons, Herrera; Puertas, Montoro, Kenedy; Soldado.

Substitutes: Escandell, Fabrega, Foulquier, Perez, Sanchez, Suarez, Brice, Machis, Molina.

United: De Gea; Wan-Bissaka, Lindelof, Maguire (c), Shaw; McTominay, Pogba; James, Fernandes, Rashford; Greenwood.

Substitutes: Grant, Henderson, Telles, Tuanzebe, Williams, Amad, Fred, Mata, Matic, van de Beek, Elanga, Cavani.

The game kicks off at 20:00 BST and you can follow live updates on and in our Official App.