click to go to homepage
David De Gea clenches his fist in celebration of a goal scored by United at Old Trafford

De Gea proud to be recognised as the best

David De Gea has been named in the PFA Premier League Team of the Year after another stellar season for Manchester United.

The goalkeeper’s consistently brilliant form has been a key factor in the Reds’ drive for a top-two finish, with his numerous eye-catching saves helping the team glean vital points over the campaign. 

The Spaniard has also been shortlisted for the overall PFA Players' Player of the Year accolade and told us of his delight at that recognition, though typically he soon turned his focus back to the team’s goals.

'We know we must perform well' article

United's no.1 acknowledges the trip to Bournemouth is absolutely crucial to our hopes of finishing second.

“I’m very, very proud to be nominated once again and I guess it’s a result of me having a good year on a personal note,” he said.

“It makes you even more proud really when you know your fellow professional players have nominated you. It’s really a source of satisfaction for me.

“I’m pleased with how my own performances have gone; it’s just a pity this season we have not won one of our big targets trophy-wise. 

“We’ve still got the FA Cup in front of us and must make sure we win a trophy and not just a personal accolade.”

De Gea's latest PFA recognition
David De Gea says

"It’s a result of me having a good year on a personal note and it makes me proud to know my fellow professional players nominated me."

It's the fourth year in a row that De Gea has been voted into the team and his fifth appearance in six seasons; his impressive run was only broken by Petr Cech's inclusion in 2013/14.

United fans on Twitter were unsurprisingly cheered by the news:

Four other United keepers have made the Team of the Year since its inception in 1973/74: Peter Schmeichel (1992/93), Fabien Barthez (2000/01), Tim Howard (2003/04) and Edwin van der Sar (2006/07, 2008/09, 2010/11).

The only other keeper to match De Gea's tally in the Premier League era is former Crystal Palace, Leeds United and Everton stopper Nigel Martyn, while the overall record holder is Peter Shilton with 10 inclusions.

Meanwhile, on-loan keeper Dean Henderson was named in the League One Team of the Year after impressing during his spell with Shrewsbury Town. The 21-year-old has made 43 appearances for the promotion-chasing Shrews this term.

PFA Premier League Team of the Year 2017/18
Goalkeeper | David De Gea (Manchester United)
Right-back | Kyle Walker (Manchester City)
Centre-back | Jan Vertonghen (Tottenham Hotspur)
Centre-back | Nicolas Otamendi (Manchester City)
Left-back | Marcos Alonso (Chelsea)
Midfielder | David Silva (Manchester City)
Midfielder | Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City)
Midfielder | Christian Eriksen (Tottenham Hotspur)
Forward | Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur)
Forward | Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)
Forward | Sergio Agüero (Manchester City)