David De Gea

De Gea voted Players' Player of the Year 2017/18

Tuesday 01 May 2018 13:06

The Manchester United first-team squad have elected David De Gea as their Players’ Player of the Year for 2017/18, rewarding the Spaniard for his remarkable consistency during the current season.

United’s no.1 has drawn huge acclaim for his incredible performances on an almost weekly basis, with his miraculous saves against Liverpool, Arsenal and Sevilla, in particular, earning great admiration.

The goalkeeper is the only player that has been selected to start each of United’s 35 Premier League games to date by manager Jose Mourinho, and leads the race for the Golden Glove award with 17 clean sheets.

The 27-year-old Spanish international received the award from last year’s winner, Antonio Valencia, and thanked his team-mates for recognising his efforts with their votes.

Ander Herrera says

“For me David is the best. He is the best I have trained with and sometimes in training it is funny because when he doesn't want us to score, we don't!"

De Gea becomes the first player in the history of the award to claim the prize three times, having already accepted the accolade in 2013/14 and 2014/15.

The first recipient of the title was Ryan Giggs in 2005/06. Five-time Ballon d’Or winner Cristiano Ronaldo (2006/07, 2007/08) and Valencia (2011/12, 2016/17) are the only other players to have claimed the prize more than once.

David De Gea wins Player's Player of the Season


"I think it is special to receive this award from my teammates, I love all of them. We are fighting for second place and we are in the final, but we are Manchester United so is not enough.

"We have to improve for next season. Of course it’s good to finish the season with a trophy especially with Wembley and the fans."