Toone triumphs at 2022 Northwest Football Awards

Tuesday 08 November 2022 10:11

Manchester United Women midfielder Ella Toone was named the Barclays WSL Player of the Season at the 2022 Armstrong Projects Northwest Football Awards on Monday evening.

Ella was recognised for her efforts across the 2021/22 league term for United, a campaign in which she scored seven, and racked up a division-high eight assists in total. 

The England international saw off competition from six other footballers who plied their trade in the region last season, as well as being a nominee in The Athletic’s Women’s Rising Star category, won by Lionesses team-mate and Manchester City winger Lauren Hemp. 
Women's Football Show: Inside October Video

Women's Football Show: Inside October

The Women's Football Show stars Aoife Mannion, our Head of Physiotherapy, Maria Thorisdottir, Nikita Parris & more...

Young United forward Alejandro Garnacho was also a nominee for the men’s award, which went to Everton’s Anthony Gordon. 

Manchester City midfielder Kevin De Bruyne won the Premier League Player of the Season trophy, a prize that Cristiano Ronaldo was shortlisted for. 
There were triumphs elsewhere for United on the evening during the ceremony, to recognise talent across the region, held at Emirates Old Trafford. 

Our young Reds’ FA Youth Cup final win over Nottingham Forest, in front of 67,492 fans at Old Trafford, was crowned as the Moment of the Season, while the Fabrice Muamba Award for Outstanding Service to Football Medicine and Performance was presented to United’s head of football medicine and science, Dr Steve McNally.
Head of Academy Nick Cox was in attendance to collect the Moment of the Season accolade.
Manchester United Foundation also had success to celebrate on the evening, with Emma Fletcher, head of girls’ development, receiving the Unsung Hero Award. 

The Foundation’s Inclusive Reds: Disability Football Provision was also picked as the winner of the Promoting Inclusion prize.

Congratulations to all of the winners and nominees on the night.