The FA Cup.

United await Emirates FA Cup third-round draw

Monday 30 November 2020 10:10

Manchester United will be ball number 24 in the Emirates FA Cup third-round draw tonight (Monday).

Ole Gunnar Solskjaer's Reds will be eagerly awaiting what is always an exciting occasion as the ties will be selected around 19:10 GMT, before Canvey Island take on Boreham Wood in a game that guarantees another non-league side in round three.

Some leading lights in League One have already been knocked out, including Hull City, Charlton Athletic, Lincoln City, Sunderland and Peterborough United, who were stunned by Chorley, with the National League North strugglers reaching this stage for the first time in their history. 

The Premier League and Championship clubs are among the 64 teams in the hat, with the games to be played around the weekend of 9 and 10 January in 2021.

All ties will be decided by extra-time and penalties, if required, as there are no replays in the competition at all this season, to ease some of the pressure on the football calendar, caused by the COVID-19 pandemic. The final is set to take place at Wembley on 15 May 2021.

United last lifted the trophy in 2016, when beating Crystal Palace in the final during Louis van Gaal's reign. However, the club's 12 triumphs in the tournament is a record only bettered by Arsenal, who won it for the 14th time last term, when overcoming London rivals Chelsea.

Ole tasted success twice as a player - in 1999 against Newcastle United and, five years later, in the victory over Millwall at the Millennium Stadium. The boss will be hoping for a home draw after an incredible run in the domestic competitions. We have had three successive away pairings in the 2020/21 Carabao Cup (next up is a trip to Everton just before Christmas) to go with seven straight draws on the road in the FA Cup since Ole took charge.

90 in 20: Southampton 2 United 3 Video

90 in 20: Southampton 2 United 3

Don't miss the extended highlights from United's incredible 3-2 win over Southampton in November 2020...


1 AFC Bournemouth
2 Arsenal
3 Aston Villa
4 Barnsley
5 Birmingham City
6 Blackburn Rovers
7 Brentford
8 Brighton & Hove Albion
9 Bristol City
10 Burnley
11 Cardiff City
12 Chelsea
13 Coventry City
14 Crystal Palace
15 Derby County
16 Everton
17 Fulham
18 Huddersfield Town
19 Leeds United
20 Leicester City
21 Liverpool
22 Luton Town
23 Manchester City
24 Manchester United
25 Middlesbrough
26 Millwall
27 Newcastle United
28 Norwich City
29 Nottingham Forest
30 Preston North End
31 Queens Park Rangers
32 Reading

The last time United lifted the trophy was in 2016.
33 Rotherham United
34 Sheffield United
35 Sheffield Wednesday
36 Southampton
37 Stoke City
38 Swansea City
39 Tottenham Hotspur
40 Watford
41 West Bromwich Albion
42 West Ham United
43 Wolverhampton Wanderers
44 Wycombe Wanderers
45 Stevenage
46 Blackpool
47 Tranmere Rovers
48 Crawley Town
49 Stockport County
50 Plymouth Argyle
51 Portsmouth
52 Cheltenham Town
53 Chorley
54 Morecambe
55 Shrewsbury Town
56 Mansfield Town
57 Newport County
58 Marine
59 Exeter City
60 Canvey Island or Boreham Wood
61 Doncaster Rovers
62 Milton Keynes Dons
63 Bristol Rovers
64 Oldham Athletic