Ten Hag's Ajax on brink of the title

Sunday 08 May 2022 18:08

Erik ten Hag's quest to end his Ajax tenure with another title continued on Sunday afternoon when the Eredivisie leaders came from behind to draw at AZ Alkmaar, before rivals PSV Eindhoven had a two-goal lead snatched away by Feyenoord.

The next Manchester United manager's current side were leading 1-0 at half-time thanks to a goal by the in-form Brian Brobbey, scored three minutes before the break.

However, that slender lead was eventually overturned by the hosts, who are fifth in the Dutch league and chasing European qualification. Vangelis Pavlidis equalised for AZ just after the hour mark, and when Hakon Evjen put them in front in the 75th minute, it left Ajax staring a rare defeat in the face.


Thankfully for Ten Hag's men, and no doubt to the chagrin of title-race rivals PSV, Edson Alvarez produced a leveller in the 86th minute and Ajax emerged with a precious point.

The result gave PSV a chance to close the gap as they headed into their later match, a tough trip to third-placed Feyenoord. 

Roger Schmidt's side looked to be cruising to a significant away win when Cody Gapko put them 2-0 up with his goals in the 16th and 29th minutes. But PSV failed to build on that advantage in the second period and were made to pay when Cyriel Dessers replied with a double of his own.
Dessiers reduced the arrears with four minutes remaining of normal time and then, with the nerves jangling for PSV, Feyenoord and Ajax supporters, he converted a penalty in the sixth minute of injury time to make the final score 2-2.

Those matching results for the top two mean Ten Hag's men stay four points clear in the title race with just two games remaining. If Ajax win, or draw while PSV fail to win, when the sides next play on Wednesday night, they'll be crowned champions again and Erik will head into the Old Trafford hot seat next season as a triple winner of the Eredivisie.


11 May, 19:00 BST: SC Heerenveen (h)
15 May, 13:30 BST: Vitesse Arnhem (a)

PSV Eindhoven
11 May, 19:00 BST: NEC Nijmegen (h)
15 May, 13:30 BST: PEC Zwolle (a)