Andre Onana

Ten Hag names first XI of 2023/24

Monday 14 August 2023 19:00

Two debutants are in Erik ten Hag's first Manchester United XI of the 2023/24 season, as Wolverhampton Wanderers provide the opposition at Old Trafford.

Andre Onana and Mason Mount make their first competitive appearance for the Reds, following their summer moves from Internazionale and Chelsea respectively.

Mount could play deep in midfield, alongside Casemiro, although skipper Bruno Fernandes is another option to fill that role.  

Aaron Wan-Bissaka gets the nod at right-back, ahead of Diogo Dalot, with Alejandro Garnacho starting on the left wing after his impressive display in the friendly win over Lens.

Dean Henderson is on the bench - his last appearance for the club was in early February 2022, in an Emirates FA Cup tie with Middlesbrough.

Players arrive for matchday one Video

Players arrive for matchday one

📽️🌦️ PLAYER ARRIVALS | The rain cannot dampen our spirits! We are buzzing for the new Premier League season...

"They are fit," Ten Hag said of Henderson and Anthony Martial, another substitute. "But obviously they don't have game practice. So they have to make another step. That's clear. But it's the good news. They are free from injuries. They are ready to play. So we are happy with that and it's a strong side.’’

The Reds are seeking a positive start to the campaign, building on last term's impressive home form.

Since losing to Brighton & Hove Albion in the opener here last year, we strung together an 18-match unbeaten league run at the Theatre of Dreams, winning 15 and drawing three, conceding only eight goals in the process.

Wolves are captained by Max Kilman, who handed Gary O'Neil's side a boost when signing a new contract this week.


UNITED: Onana; Wan-Bissaka, Varane, Martinez, Shaw; Casemiro, Mount; Antony, Fernandes (c), Garnacho; Rashford.

Substitutes: Henderson, Dalot, Lindelof, Maguire, Eriksen, McTominay, Martial, Pellistri, Sancho.

Wolves: Sa; Semedo, Dawson, Kilman (c), Ait-Nouri; Lemina, Gomes, Nunes; Sarabia, Cunha, Neto.

Substitutes: Bentley, Doherty, Traore, Hwang, Bueno, Kalajdzic, Toti, Fabio Silva, Hodge.