Ten Hag names team for Forest cup tie

Wednesday 28 February 2024 18:45

Erik ten Hag has selected his Manchester United side to hopefully get past Nottingham Forest and into the Emirates FA Cup quarter-finals.

The first meeting between the clubs in the competition since 1990, when Mark Robins scored the only goal, must be decided on the night. Extra-time and penalties will take place, if required.

United remain on the road in this season's tournament, following away wins against Wigan Athletic and Newport County.

Three changes have been made to the side on duty against Fulham in the Premier League at the weekend.

Harry Maguire is out due to injury but Raphael Varane and captain Bruno Fernandes have been passed fit, with both starting.

Kobbie Mainoo and Omari Forson move to the bench, with Sofyan Amrabat, presumably at full-back, Scott McTominay and Antony handed starts.

Habeeb Ogunneye is on the bench and the right-back will become the 250th Academy graduate to represent the first team if he comes on at any point.

"They fought to be part of this game," the manager said of Varane and Fernandes, whom he flagged as doubts in his MUTV interview on Tuesday. "Jonny Evans is also not 100 per cent fit, similar on Saturday was this, but we have to deal with it and we have to do a little bit smart and that they keep available because we’re struggling, especially the back four with full-backs and centre-backs being available."

On Antony regaining his place on the right wing, the boss added: "He has to push back, he has to show some resilience. He was in a tough time, didn’t have the best performances, but he can do much better.

"Lately in training, we have some good things. But, as I say, it’s the match, you have to prove it [in]."

Habeeb Ogunneye is on the bench for United tonight.


Forest: Turner, Williams, Murillo, Felipe, Toffolo, Yates (c), Danilo, Elanga, Gibbs-White, Origi, Awoniyi.

Substitutes: Vlachodimos, Kouyate, Hudson-Odoi, Dominguez, Niakhate, Omobamidele, Ribeiro, Gardner.

United: Onana; Dalot, Varane, Lindelof, Amrabat; Casemiro, McTominay; Antony, Fernandes (c), Garnacho; Rashford.

Substitutes: Bayindir, Evans, Kambwala, Ogunneye, Collyer, Eriksen, Mainoo, Amad, Forson.