Harry Maguire and Tyrone Mings celebrate

Maguire helps United equal England goals record

Sunday 15 November 2020 09:00

Harry Maguire’s goal against Republic of Ireland on Thursday helped Manchester United equal an England national team record.

Maguire, captaining the Three Lions from the beginning of an international for the first time, nodded in Harry Winks’s cross on 18 minutes, for his second England goal.

It was the first time he’d hit the net for his country as a United player and our no.5 became the 33rd Red to make it on to the scoresheet for the national side.

According to Opta, no club has had more different scorers for the Three Lions, with United now tied with Tottenham Hotspur, who had moved ahead in recent years thanks to the exploits of Harry Kane, Dele Alli and Eric Dier.

Henderson makes international bow


Our young goalkeeper appeared during the second half of England's win over the Republic of Ireland.

However, our men have contributed more goals – 243 in total – than Spurs, helped by the fact that England’s two all-time leading goalscorers, Wayne Rooney and Sir Bobby Charlton, played for United for the bulk of their careers.

Charlton leads the table for most strikes for England while a United player, with all 49 of his international goals arriving during his stay at Old Trafford.

Rooney may have topped Sir Bobby’s overall total, but the first nine of his final tally of 53 came while he was at Everton.

Bryan Robson, Tommy Taylor and Paul Scholes round out the top five, with Marcus Rashford our highest-scoring current player – he’s tied-sixth with David Beckham, who scored 11 of his 17 England goals while contracted to his boyhood club.


Bobby Charlton – 49
Wayne Rooney – 44
Bryan Robson – 25
Tommy Taylor – 16
Paul Scholes – 14
David Beckham – 11
Marcus Rashford – 11
Danny Welbeck – 8
Steve Coppell – 7
Jack Rowley – 6
Duncan Edwards – 5
Stan Pearson – 5
Stuart Pearson – 5
Ashley Young – 5
Jesse Lingard – 4

Rooney was presented with an award after breaking Sir Bobby's England record.

John Connelly – 3
Warren Bradley – 2
Rio Ferdinand – 2
Harold Halse – 2
Paul Ince – 2
Kieran Richardson – 2
Teddy Sheringham – 2
George Wall – 2
Ray Wilkins – 2
Wes Brown – 1
Andy Cole – 1
Brian Kidd – 1
Harry Maguire – 1
Chris Smalling – 1
Joe Spence – 1
Nobby Stiles – 1
Dennis Viollet – 1
Neil Webb – 1