Maguire to reach landmark against USA

Friday 25 November 2022 11:26

Harry Maguire is set to win his 50th England cap in the World Cup tie with USA, manager Gareth Southgate has confirmed.

The Manchester United captain will reach the landmark in the Group B clash, as he has recovered from the illness that forced him off during the 6-2 opening-game victory over Iran.

After hitting the bar and provided an assist for Bukayo Saka in the resounding win, the centre-back has already enjoyed an eventful tournament.

Résumé of Reds' first World Cup games


Now every team has played in Qatar, we round-up how our players have fared and the state of play.

"Harry's 50th cap is well deserved," said Southgate. "He has played a big role in two big tournament performances and we hope it's a third."

Maguire admits it will be a proud moment for him to join a select band of United men to play 50 times for the Three Lions.

"I was disappointed to come off [in the win over Iran]," said Maguire. "I felt unwell in the second half and we have done all the appropriate actions and I have trained for two days and I feel good. I am ready to go for tomorrow," he expressed during Thursday's pre-match press conference.

"My 50th cap will be a really proud moment for myself. I've had some unbelievable memories. Every time I put the shirt on, it's such a proud moment.

"Scoring in the quarter-final of the World Cup and the Euros, reaching a semi-final, reaching a final: there have been many memories," he added.

"There are still a lot of players who were there on my debut and are still there now. I've played a lot of games with John Stones, he's been there in pretty much every game I've been in."

Maguire's Reds colleagues Luke Shaw and Marcus Rashford will also hope to feature again, with Rashford coming off the bench to score against Iran, although it has been predicted Southgate will stick with an unchanged XI.


120 - Wayne Rooney
115 - David Beckham
106 - Sir Bobby Charlton
90 - Bryan Robson
89 - Michael Owen
85 - Gary Neville
84 - Ray Wilkins
81 - Rio Ferdinand
66 - Paul Scholes
59 - Peter Beardsley
59 - Phil Neville
53 - Paul Ince
51 - Teddy Sheringham