How United contributed to England’s 100-goal landmark

Wednesday 30 November 2022 09:42

Manchester United forward Marcus Rashford netted England’s 100th goal at a men’s FIFA World Cup finals during Tuesday’s 3-0 win over Wales.

Having opened the scoring in the Group B clash with an arrowed free-kick, Marcus’s second of the evening – after Phil Foden’s goal to make it 2-0 – turned out to be a milestone-reaching effort. 

Over recent weeks, Rashford has become the latest player to score for the Three Lions at the tournament while representing United at club level, having also been on target in England’s opener against Iran. 

In actual fact, our no.10’s goals in Qatar are the latest of 14 netted by Reds within that century landmark.

Rashford: I play for moments like this


Marcus reacts to his World Cup double against Wales, as Luke Shaw and Harry Maguire also help England reach the last 16.

Sir Bobby Charlton was the first United player to score for England at a World Cup when he netted in a group-stage victory for the Three Lions over Argentina at the 1962 edition in Chile. 

Four years later, Sir Bobby would find the net three further times in his nation’s successful campaign on home soil – once against Mexico in the group and twice against Portugal in the semi-final. 

Charlton’s four goals at the World Cup remains the most for England by any Red.

That tally could be matched – and potentially surpassed – by Rashford this year, however. The 25-year-old now has netted all three of his at this year’s tournament.

Bryan Robson’s two World Cup strikes came in 1982’s 3-1 win over France, while David Beckham also scored twice on the global stage as a Red – against Colombia in 1998 and Argentina in 2002.

Robson's first goal against France was timed at 27 seconds, making it the fastest goal in World Cup history at the time.
Paul Scholes also contributes to the tally after his 90th-minute curler to seal a group-stage win over Tunisia at France ’98, as does Wayne Rooney who got on the scoresheet despite defeat to Uruguay in the same phase of the 2014 competition. 

Before Rashford’s heroics at this year’s edition, Jesse Lingard was the most recent Red to score at a World Cup, when he picked out the top corner in a thumping of Panama four years ago.
Scholes celebrates his World Cup strike in 1998.
Our contribution of 14 may have been higher had Rio Ferdinand been a United player when he found the net against Denmark in 2002. Our legendary defender was a Leeds player at the time and made the switch across the Pennines the following month. 

Three of Beckham’s World Cup goals came while he was wearing red, but he did also add to that tally during the 2006 tournament, while sporting the colours of Real Madrid. 

Leicester's Harry Maguire was linked with a move to M16 during the summer of 2018 in which he was on target in England’s quarter-final win over Sweden but he didn’t make the move to Old Trafford until the year after.

Former United man Peter Beardsley was a Newcastle player when he scored in 1986, while Michael Owen’s four World Cup strikes all came before his Reds transfer in 2009.
Maguire was a Leicester City player when netting against Sweden four years ago.

4 – Sir Bobby Charlton
3 – Marcus Rashford
2 – David Beckham, Bryan Robson
1 – Jesse Lingard, Wayne Rooney, Paul Scholes