Ole Gunnar Solskjaer.

Solskjaer names side to take on AC Milan

Thursday 11 March 2021 16:40

Ole Gunnar Solskjaer has named his side to take on AC Milan in the UEFA Europa League, and there are four changes from the XI that so impressively defeated Manchester City at the weekend.

Dean Henderson retains his place in goal, with David De Gea still in Spain after the birth of his first child, but there are two alterations to the defensive line in front of him.

Eric Bailly replaces Victor Lindelof, to make what is his 100th appearances for the Reds, while derby goalscorer Luke Shaw makes way for Alex Telles on the left-hand side.

Fred is a substitute today, with Nemanja Matic partnering Scott McTominay in his stead, while Mason Greenwood comes in for Marcus Rashford, who has failed to recover in time after leaving the pitch 20 minutes early at the Etihad Stadium with a muscle injury.

United are also missing Edinson Cavani, Donny van de Beek, Juan Mata, Paul Pogba and Phil Jones, all of whom are injured.

That means we have only named nine substitutes out of a possible 12, with Shola Shoretire once again among the replacements after becoming our youngest European player in the 0-0 draw with Real Sociedad here two weeks ago.

“His ankle got hurt when he made that run, that sprint [against City]. Hopefully he won’t be too long but no chance tonight,” Solskjaer told BT Sport when asked to explain the absence of Rashford.

“Experienced players [are coming in] of course, Alex and Nemanja and Eric have had loads of input in games for us,” the boss continued. “Mason takes over from Marcus and hopefully we can see some of his X-factor again.”

Diogo Dalot has been included in Milan's XI, along with on-loan Chelsea defender Fikayo Tomori and former Manchester City attacker Brahim Diaz.

Fantasy Transfers


👉 Which of these iconic players from AC Milan history would you have signed for United in their prime? 🤩

United: Henderson; Wan-Bissaka, Bailly, Maguire, Telles; McTominay, Matic; Greenwood, Fernandes, James; Martial.

Substitutes: Bishop, Grant, Lindelof, Shaw, Tuanzebe, Williams, Amad, Fred, Shoretire.

Milan: G. Donnarumma; Calabria, Kjaer, Tomori, Dalot; Krunic, Meite, Kessie; Saelemaekers, Leao, Diaz.

Substitutes: Tatarusanu, A. Donnarumma, Castillejo, Tonali, Kalulu, Tonin, Gabbia.