Rashford in the running for award

Thursday 18 May 2023 14:00

Marcus Rashford's fine performances this season have gained further recognition with a place on the shortlist for the Premier League Player of the Year.

Fans can get behind our brilliant no.10 in the voting, as he has 21 goal involvements (16 goals, five assists) in the competition to his name, with three games to go.

We revealed the forward has returned to training at Carrington on Wednesday, in advance of Saturday's final away match of the term at Bournemouth, after missing the 2-0 win over Wolves through injury.

The homegrown hero has scored against Liverpool, Arsenal (three times) and Manchester City in the league and his most recent strike came in the 2-2 draw at Tottenham.

Training highlights: One-two then shoot! Video

Training highlights: One-two then shoot!

Training highlights | The Reds looked sharp when shooting in the latest session, before Bournemouth (A)…

The competition for the trophy is predictably fierce, with six other stars in the frame, following the announcement of the contenders.

Manchester City pair Kevin De Bruyne and Erling Haaland are nominated as the Blues look poised to wrap up a third successive title.

Closest challengers Arsenal also have two players recognised for their efforts - captain Martin Odegaard and winger Bukayo Saka.

Tottenham's top scorer Harry Kane and his England team-mate, Kieran Trippier of Newcastle United, complete the list.


Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City)
Erling Haaland (Manchester City)
Harry Kane (Tottenham)
Martin Odegaard (Arsenal)
Bukayo Saka (Arsenal)
Kieran Trippier (Newcastle United)

Vote for Marcus here.

The winner will be announced at 11:00 BST on Saturday 27 May.