Rashford joins exclusive 30-goal club for United

Thursday 25 May 2023 22:03

Marcus Rashford became only the 12th player to reach the 30-goal mark in all competitions in a single season for Manchester United when he netted our final goal in the 4-1 win over Chelsea.

Although starting on the bench after illness and injury, he was introduced in the first half when Antony was taken off on a stretcher.

His moment came when Bruno Fernandes capitalised on a poor pass in defence by Wesley Fofana to tee up the homegrown forward, who needed a couple of bites at it before tapping in with Kepa Arrizabalaga grounded.

That was his 17th league strike of the campaign, to add to his six in both the Europa League and Carabao Cup and one in the Emirates FA Cup.

With two matches still to play, it’s comfortably the best tally in a single term for the Manchester-born striker, beating the 22 he netted across all competitions in 2019/20.

Rashford is the first person to hit 30 goals for us since Robin van Persie finished with that number in 2012/13.

All The Goals: Wayne Rooney Video

All The Goals: Wayne Rooney

All The Goals | Wayne Rooney scored 253 times for United, more than any other player in our history...

Club record goalscorer Wayne Rooney did it twice in his Reds career, firing 34 goals in both 2009/10 and 2011/12.

Cristiano Ronaldo found the net 42 times in our successful 2007/08 campaign, while Ruud van Nistelrooy achieved the milestone three times in the 2000s.

Denis Law did the same in the 1960s, with his 1963/64 total of 46 remaining our club record for goals in a single season.

The other players in the exclusive club are Brian McClair, George Best, David Herd, Dennis Viollet, Tommy Taylor and Jack Rowley.

Viollet’s 32 goals in 1959/60 were all scored in the league and that’s another club record that still stands today.


2012/13 – Van Persie (30 goals)
2011/12 – Rooney (34)
2009/10 – Rooney (34)
2007/08 – Ronaldo (42)
2003/04 – Van Nistelrooy (30)
2002/03 – Van Nistelrooy (44)
2001/02 – Van Nistelrooy (36)
1987/88 – McClair (31)
1968/69 – Law (30)
1967/68 – Best (32)
1965/66 – Herd (32)
1964/65 – Law (39)
1963/64 – Law (46)
1959/60 – Viollet (32)
1956/57 – Taylor (34)
1951/52 – Rowley (30)

*Across all competitions