Batlle and Earps nominated for PFA WSL Fans' Player of the Year

Tuesday 16 May 2023 13:30

Ona Batlle and Mary Earps have both been nominated for the PFA Vertu Motors' WSL Fans’ Player of the Year, following stellar 2022/23 campaigns for Manchester United Women.

The pair have been key members of a United rearguard that has conceded just 11 goals across 20 WSL fixtures so far. This is the lowest tally in the division, equal with Arsenal, as things stand.

The Reds have been battling hard with the Gunners, Manchester City and current champions Chelsea throughout the season and are currently top of the table. However, Chelsea are just one point behind us with a game in hand.

Both Batlle and Earps have been recognised for their performances and are nominated for the PFA's Fans' Player of the Year, which you can vote for.

Not only has Batlle contributed to our stern defence this term, but she has had a significant impact at the opposite end of the pitch.

The Spain international has contributed nine assists in the WSL so far, second only to Chelsea attacker Guro Reiten and level with Manchester City midfielder Chloe Kelly and Aston Villa's Kirsty Hanson (who is on loan from United).

Batlle's assist tally is the highest at the club too, with Ella Toone and Katie Zelem on eight each, highlighting the right-back's impact in attack.

Earps, on the other hand, has produced some remarkable stops throughout the campaign and has kept an impressive 13 clean sheets so far.

Our goalkeeper's tally is three more than the next shotstopper on the list, Arsenal's Manuela Zinsberger.

There have been countless occasions this year when Earps has received heaps of praise from Skinner for her 'world-class' heroics between the sticks, as she remains focused even when United are dominating games, to make sure our barriers are not breached.

Highlights: Chelsea v United Women Video

Highlights: Chelsea v United Women

Watch the best action from United Women's first-ever FA Cup final, against Chelsea at Wembley...


Batlle and Earps are joined by Arsenal's Frida Maanum, Aston Villa's Rachel Daly, Chelsea's Sam Kerr and Manchester City's Khadija Shaw on the shortlist.

This award is fan-voted, and the poll is open from now (13:30 BST on Tuesday 16 May) until 23:59 BST on Sunday 28 May.

The winner will be announced at a later date.

Follow this link to give Batlle and Earps your support!