Mason Greenwood.

Greenwood in contention for Golden Boy award

Wednesday 16 September 2020 14:30

Manchester United striker Mason Greenwood has been named on the final shortlist for the 2020 Golden Boy award.

The Academy graduate is among 40 contenders who remain from the original selection of 100 in June. Twenty players per month have since been cut but Mason could now follow his team-mates Anthony Martial and Paul Pogba in being named Europe's best young player aged under 21.

Martial was presented with the award in his first year at United, 2015; the Reds' previous winners were Wayne Rooney in 2004 and Anderson in 2008. Pogba received it as a Juventus player in 2013. 

The trophy is the brainchild of Italian newspaper Tuttosport, and the Atletico Madrid and Portugal forward Joao Felix is the current holder.

Watch Mason Greenwood's United goals in 2019/20.

There is intense competition for the honour, although Mason must be considered among the front-runners after an exceptional season, in which he scored 10 Premier League goals and 18 in total for the Reds.

Nonetheless, some of the star names on the list include Borussia Dortmund duo Jadon Sancho and Erling Braut Haaland, Barcelona youngster Ansu Fati, Bayern Munich's Champions League-winning full-back Alphonso Davies, Rennes prospect Eduardo Camavinga and Real Madrid pair Vinicius Jnr and Rodrygo.

Aside from Greenwood, the Premier League is represented by Fabio Silva (Wolves), Phil Foden (Manchester City), Callum Hudson-Odoi (Chelsea), Bukayo Sako (Arsenal), Ferran Torres (Manchester City) and Neco Williams (Liverpool).


Marley Ake (Marseille)
Adil Aouchiche (Saint-Etienne)
Benoit Badiashile (Monaco)
Mitchel Bakker (PSG)
Myron Boadu (AZ Alkmaar)
Dennis Borowski (RB Leipzig)
Eduardo Camavinga (Rennes)
Marco Carnesecchi (Atalanta)
Ryan Cherki (Lyon)
Jonathan David (Lille)
Alphonso Davies (Bayern Munich)
Sergino Dest (Ajax)
Sebastiano Esposito (Internazionale)
Fabio Silva (Wolves)
Ansu Fati (Barcelona)
Phil Foden (Manchester City)
Amine Gouiri (Nice)
Ryan Gravenberch (Ajax)
Mason Greenwood (United)
Erling Braut Haaland (Borussia Dortmund)

Callum Hudson-Odoi (Chelsea)
Mohamed Ihattaren (PSV Eindhoven)
Ozan Kabak (Schalke)
Michal Karbownik (Legia Warsaw)
Tanguy Kouassi (Bayern Munich)
Dejan Kulusevski (Juventus)
Marcos Antonio (Shakhtar Donetsk)
Rafael Camacho (Sporting)
Rodrygo (Real Madrid)
Bukayo Sako (Arsenal)
Jadon Sancho (Borussia Dortmund)
Vladyslav Supriaha (Dynamo Kiev)
Dominik Szoboszlai (RB Salzburg)
Tomas Esteves (Porto)
Sandro Tonali (Milan)
Ferran Torres (Manchester City)
Christos Tzolis (PAOK)
Vinicius Jnr (Real Madrid)
Neco Williams (Liverpool)
Tomas Tavares (Benfica)

The new season is here! Our 2020/21 home, away and third kits are available now from United Direct.