Ole announces team to face West Ham

Ole Gunnar Solskjaer has revealed his Man United team to face West Ham as the Reds go in search of a third successive win.

Ole has made nine changes to the side that started against FC Astana on Thursday night and has reverted to the same XI that beat Leicester City last weekend.

The Reds are still without Luke Shaw, Paul Pogba and Anthony Martial, but Daniel James, who was a doubt through injury, has been passed fit for today’s encounter. However, Mason Greenwood is missing due to tonsillitis after his midweek heroics in the Europa League.

Ole in the tunnelVideo

The first of Ole’s nine changes sees David De Gea return between the sticks. The Spanish goalkeeper signed a new contract earlier this week and will be hoping to celebrate it by keeping a clean sheet on Sunday afternoon.

Ahead of him Aaron Wan-Bissaka, Victor Lindelof, Harry Maguire and Ashley Young all return to the side. In midfield, Nemanja Matic is one the few midweek starters who has been picked from the off at the London Stadium and he is joined in the centre of the park by Scott McTominay.

In the attacking areas, James’s return is a welcomed boost for Ole and he will be aiming to add to his three Premier League goals so far this season. The Welshman is expected to start on the left-hand side, with Andreas Pereira likely to operate on the opposite flank. Juan Mata, who scored in our last away win over the Hammers in 2017, will line-up in the no.10 role.

Up front, Marcus Rashford is the lone striker. The England international netted at the London Stadium last season in the 3-1 defeat.

As for the hosts, influential midfielder Manuel Lanzini is missing through injury and has been replaced in the starting line-up by summer signing Pablo Fornals. Hammers boss Manuel Pellegrini has also been forced into a change at the back following Arthur Masuaku’s red card against Aston Villa on Monday night, and Aaron Cresswell will deputise for the Congolese defender.

Today's line-ups
West Ham: Fabianski; Fredericks, Diop, Ogbonna, Cresswell; Rice, Yarmolenko, Noble (c), Fornals, Anderson; Haller.

Subs: Roberto, Balbuena, Zabaleta, Sanchez, Wilshere, Snodgrass, Ajeti.

United: De Gea; Wan-Bissaka, Lindelof, Maguire, Young (c); McTominay, Matic; A.Pereira, Mata, James; Rashford.

Subs: Romero, Rojo, Tuanzebe, Fred, Lingard, Gomes, Chong.

Reading this in our app? If not, you might miss some exclusive features not found on ManUtd.com. Download the Official App here.