Confirmed: Ole's XI to face Atalanta

Tuesday 02 November 2021 18:45

Manchester United manager Ole Gunnar Solskjaer has picked a strong team to take on Atalanta in the UEFA Champions League on Tuesday night.

The Reds boss has made three alterations to the team that started against Tottenham Hotspur in our 3-0 win last Saturday.

In the capital for our convincing Premier League win last weekend, the Norwegian opted for a three-at-the-back formation and Ole is sticking to the same formation against the Italian side.

Victor Lindelof, who played the whole match against Spurs, will not be involved in Bergamo. In his place at Gewiss Stadium comes Eric Bailly.

"Yeah, he’s been really keen," Ole said to MUTV about our no.3.

"He’s worked really hard and trained really well. Of course he’s played a few games with Ivory Coast as well, so he’ll be ready."

Paul Pogba is back in the starting line-up, replacing Fred and Marcus Rashford, who came on to score in North London last Saturday is in for Edinson Cavani.

"We’re hoping to see the best of Marcus and Paul," the boss said in his pre-match interview.

"I thought Marcus was very good v Atalanta at Old Trafford. He caused problems with his dynamism and runs in behind. Of course, Paul can create chances and we hope to see the best of him too."

United, of course, beat Atalanta 3-2 at Old Trafford in the reverse Champions League fixture, after goals from Marcus Rashford, Harry Maguire and Cristiano Ronaldo made sure the Reds turned a two-goal deficit into three points. 

Revealed: United's Player of the Month


Cristiano Ronaldo has retained the club's award after thousands of fans voted in our October poll.

United: De Gea; Wan-Bissaka, Bailly, Varane, Maguire, Shaw; McTominay, Pogba, Fernandes; Ronaldo, Rashford.

Substitutes: Henderson, Mata, Martial, Greenwood, Lingard, Fred, Dalot, Cavani, Sancho, Alex Telles, Matic, van de Beek.

Atalanta: Musso; De Roon, Demiral, Palomino; Zappacosta, Pasalic, Freuler, Koopmeiners, Maehle; Ilicic, Zapata.

Substitutes: Rossi, Sportiello, Muriel, Pezzella, Malinovskyi, Djimsiti, Scalvini, Miranchuk, Lovato, Piccoli.