The Carabao Cup trophy on a platform.

Carabao Cup third round: who can United face?

Tuesday 27 August 2019 15:00

The draw for the third round of the Carabao Cup will take place on Wednesday evening, with Manchester United among the favourites to win the competition.

Ole Gunnar Solskjaer's Reds have received a bye through to this stage of the competition due to European commitments.

Here’s a guide to the draw and who we could find ourselves facing when our involvement starts in September...


The third round draw of the 2019/20 Carabao Cup will be held at around 22:00 BST on Wednesday, following the conclusion of the televised Lincoln City v Everton match. It will be broadcast live on Sky Sports, but you can also keep an eye on and your Official App to find out who we will be paired up against.

United have won the League Cup five times, including our first victory in 1992.


Manchester City, Liverpool, Chelsea and Tottenham Hotspur automatically qualified for this stage due to their participation in the Champions League, while Arsenal and Wolverhampton Wanderers, like ourselves, received a bye by virtue of their involvement in the Europa League. The other 25 third-round places are being determined by this week's fixtures as follows:

Tuesday 27 August

Burton Albion 4 Morecambe 0

Crewe Alexandra 1 Aston Villa 6

Grimsby Town v Macclesfield Town - match abandoned

Leeds United 2 Stoke City 2 - Stoke won on penalties

Nottingham Forest 3 Derby County 0

Preston North End 2 Hull City 2 - Preston won on penalties

Rochdale 2 Carlisle United 1

Sheffield United 2 Blackburn Rovers 1

Bristol Rovers 1 Brighton & Hove Albion 2

Cardiff City 0 Luton Town 3

Crawley Town 1 Norwich City 0

Crystal Palace 0 Colchester United 0 - Colchester won on penalties

Fulham 0 Southampton 1

Newport County 0 West Ham United 2

Oxford United 2 Millwall 2 - Oxford won on penalties

Plymouth Argyle 2 Reading 4

Southend United 1 Milton Keynes Dons 4

Watford 3 Coventry City 0

Wednesday 28 August (all games kick off at 19:45 BST)

Burnley 1-3 Sunderland

Lincoln City 2-4 Everton

Newcastle United 1-1 Leicester City (Leicester won on pens)

Rotherham United 0 -1 Sheffield Wednesday

AFC Bournemouth 0-0 Forest Green Rovers (Bournemouth won on pens)

Queens Park Rangers 0-2 Portsmouth

Swansea City 6-0 Cambridge United

Matches which are level after 90 minutes will go straight to penalties. Unlike the first and second rounds of the competition, in which teams are split into two geographical sections – northern and southern – this will be a straight draw, meaning any team can be pitted against each other, regardless of area or league. United faced rivals Liverpool at this stage in 2013 and made a trip to Elland Road to play Leeds United two years previously in what is still our last competitive meeting with our traditional Yorkshire foes.

Javier Hernandez scored the winner against Liverpool in the third round in 2013.


The third round of the 2019/20 Carabao Cup will take place during the week commencing 23 September. Due to our Premier League match against West Ham United on Sunday 22 September, it is likely that our tie would be played on Wednesday 25 September, but this will be confirmed once the draw has been made.


United are one of the most successful sides in the history of the League Cup, having won the competition on five previous occasions. Our most recent success was in 2017, when we beat Southampton 3-2 at Wembley thanks to two goals from Zlatan Ibrahimovic – the second a dramatic late header – and a Jesse Lingard strike. We also clinched the trophy in 1992, 2006, 2009 and 2010, and have finished as runners-up on four occasions.

Story updated 22:30, Tuesday 27 August.

Reading this in our app? If not, you might miss some exclusive features not found on Download the Official App here.