Alejandro Garnacho

Garnacho claims BBC Goal Award

Monday 20 May 2024 11:19

Alejandro Garnacho's incredible overhead kick at Everton has been named as the BBC's Goal of the Season for 2023/24.

Match of the Day studio pundits Alan Shearer and Ian Wright agreed that the Argentinian's acrobatic effort deserved to beat strikes from Alexis Mac Allister and Moises Caicedo, after an online vote narrowed down the original shortlist - containing each Goal-of-the-Month winner - from nine to three.

Garnacho becomes the fourth Red to claim the prize, which is effectively the top goal accolade dished out in English football.

It was first established in the 1970/71 season and, although the last 18 winning goals have all been scored in the Premier League, traditionally it's open to efforts from all competitions.

All the Angles: Garnacho v Everton Video

All the Angles: Garnacho v Everton

Watch Alejandro Garnacho’s Goal-of-the-Season contender again and again and again – you know you want to…

Ryan Giggs was United's first recipient, for his incredible solo goal against Arsenal in the 1999 FA Cup semi-final replay.

Wayne Rooney won the award three times - a record for a single player - with Middlesbrough, in the 2004/05 FA Cup, Bolton Wanderers (2006/07) and Manchester City (2010/11) his victims.

The most recent victor, before Garnacho, was Robin van Persie, who was recognised for his volley against Aston Villa on the night we won the Premier League title in 2013.

All that adds up to six total successes for the Reds, level with Arsenal, but two behind Liverpool, who lead the way for single club triumphs on eight.


Unsurprisingly, Garnacho is favourite to win the club's Goal of the Season prize when it is announced later this week.

Garna's is one of 10 goals on the shortlist, which is arguably the strongest it's been for years.

See which strikes are up for nomination below, and don't forget to cast your vote before the poll closes...

Which of these 10 contenders should win the men’s Goal of the Season award?poll

Which of these 10 contenders should win the men’s Goal of the Season award?