Confirmed: United XI to face Milan

Thursday 18 March 2021 18:45

Ole Gunnar Solskjaer has named his starting XI to face AC Milan in the second leg of our Europa League tie.

The manager has opted to field the same XI that overcame West Ham in the Premier League on Sunday.

Dean Henderson remains in goal, with Aaron Wan-Bissaka, Victor Lindelof, Harry Maguire and Luke Shaw at the back.

Scott McTominay and Fred anchor the midfield, while our attack features Daniel James, Bruno Fernandes, Marcus Rashford and Mason Greenwood, who is set to lead the line up front as he did against the Hammers.

Ole: We're going to go for it Video

Ole: We're going to go for it

The boss explains why we're unchanged tonight, and what role Amad, Donny and Paul could play...

Milan, meanwhile, name Zlatan Ibrahimovic on the bench. The former Red missed the first leg through injury, but he is fit enough to be selected amongst the substitutes.

The Rossoneri team shows four changes from the line-up that kicked off at Old Trafford last week, with Kalulu, Theo Hernandez, Castillejo and Hakan Calhanoglu coming in for Calabria, Reds loanee Diogo Dalot, Diaz and Rafael Leao.

Talking about his line-up, Ole told MUTV: "We felt the [West Ham] game was a good game, good preparation. We looked at the other game against Milan as well but we felt these changes [from the first leg] might make the difference for us tonight."

Asked about the return to the squad of David De Gea, Paul Pogba and Donny van de Beek, he added: “We have to go for it but then again we might have to put players on to make a difference. Amad scored last time, so don’t be surprised if he comes on.

“We’re going to go for it. We know we have to score, which is a good position to be in. We can’t sit back and soak up the pressure. We know that we’re better when we go forward.”


AC Milan: G. Donnarumma (c), Kalulu, Tomori, Kjaer, Theo Hernandez, Krunic, Kessie, Meite, Castillejo, Hakan Calhanoglu, Saelemaekers.

Subs: Tatarusanu, A. Donnarumma, Bennacer, Dalot, Tonali, Ibrahimovic, Brahim Diaz, Tonin, Gabbia.

United: Henderson; Wan-Bissaka, Lindelof, Maguire (c), Shaw; McTominay, Fred; James, Fernandes, Rashford; Greenwood.

Subs: De Gea, Grant, Telles, Tuanzebe, Williams, Amad, Pogba, Matic, van de Beek.

The match at San Siro kicks off at 20:00 GMT and you can follow live updates on and in our Official App.