Two Reds named in Southgate's England squad

Thursday 31 August 2023 14:00

Manchester United's Marcus Rashford and Harry Maguire have both been included in England's squad for the upcoming international break.

Gareth Southgate's side will play a UEFA Euro 2024 qualifier against Ukraine in Wroclaw, Poland on Saturday 9 September (17:00 BST), three days before taking on Scotland in a friendly at Hampden Park.

The match against Scotland will take place on Tuesday 12 September at 19:45 BST.

Luke Shaw, who recently suffered an injury that ruled him out of contention for last weekend's 3-2 comeback win over Nottingham Forest, is unavailable for the Three Lions too.

Rashford wins award for high-scoring season


Marcus's attacking exploits during 2022/23 have earned him another accolade.

Both Rashford and Maguire played their part for Southgate's side in the last round of international games in June, which included England beating North Macedonia 7-0 at Old Trafford in a European qualifier.

In that fixture, Rashford netted for the Three Lions to become the first United player to do so for England at the Theatre of Dreams since David Beckham in 2001.

Southgate's team also played a qualifier in Malta during June, emerging 4-0 victors. As it stands, England sit top of qualification Group C, having won all four of their matches, scoring 15 goals.


Goalkeepers: Sam Johnstone (Crystal Palace), Jordan Pickford (Everton), Aaron Ramsdale (Arsenal).

Defenders: Ben Chilwell (Chelsea), Levi Colwill (Chelsea), Lewis Dunk (Brighton & Hove Albion), Marc Guehi (Crystal Palace), Harry Maguire (Manchester United), Fikayo Tomori (AC Milan), Kieran Trippier (Newcastle United), Kyle Walker (Manchester City).

Midfielders: Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Jude Bellingham (Real Madrid), Conor Gallagher (Chelsea), Jordan Henderson (Al-Ettifaq), Kalvin Phillips (Manchester City), Declan Rice (Arsenal).

Forwards: Eberechi Eze (Crystal Palace), Phil Foden (Manchester City), Jack Grealish (Manchester City), Harry Kane (Bayern Munich), James Maddison (Tottenham Hotspur), Eddie Nketiah (Arsenal), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Callum Wilson (Newcastle United).