Erik ten Hag at the Etihad Stadium.

Confirmed: United's XI for the derby

Sunday 03 March 2024 14:30

Manchester United's starting XI and substitutes for the 192nd Manchester derby have been confirmed.

The Reds travel to City's Etihad Stadium having won six of our last seven games in all competitions, with the latest outing being Wednesday's dramatic late Emirates FA Cup victory at Nottingham Forest.

Ten Hag has made two changes from the side which started at The City Ground, with Jonny Evans and Kobbie Mainoo replacing Sofyan Amrabat and Antony, who drop to the bench.

Arriving at the Etihad Video

Arriving at the Etihad

See which Reds were spotted by our cameras as we report for derby duty…

It remains to be seen how exactly the Reds line up to start the game, but Victor Lindelof could play at left-back, having deputised there recently.

While Mainoo will likely partner Casemiro in midfield, Scott McTominay has the ability to play in a more advanced role and Bruno Fernandes captains the side having played through the pain barrier in the East Midlands in midweek.

City welcome Ederson, Ruben Dias, Rodri and Phil Foden back to the XI, after they were rested for the 6-2 win at Luton in the cup, while Jeremy Doku is in for the injured Jack Grealish.

“Sometimes we want to overload that midfield by dropping players [in] but by opposite movement to get a little bit of confusion there,” Erik told Sky Sports reporter Patrick Davidson.

“To get an extra player there that we can use for overload, but also we need the runs behind.

“We know they have a high back line, we have a lot of speed we can bring forward there with Garnacho, with Rashford, and from the second line, from Scott McTominay.

“Even from the third line with Diogo Dalot, so we have our options there.”


United XI: Onana; Dalot, Varane, Evans, Lindelof; Casemiro, Mainoo; Fernandes (c), McTominay, Garnacho; Rashford.

Subs: Bayindir, Kambwala, Ogunneye, Amrabat, Eriksen, Collyer, Amad, Antony, Forson.

City XI: Ederson; Walker (c), Dias, Stones, Ake; Rodri, Silva; Foden, De Bruyne, Doku; Haaland.

Subs: Ortega, Gomez, Gvardiol, Akanji, Lewis, Kovacic, Nunez, Alvarez, Bobb.