Ex-Reds named on Hall of Fame shortlist

Thursday 30 March 2023 10:00

Six former Manchester United players have been named on a shortlist of greats who are eligible to become the next inductees into the Premier League Hall of Fame.

Launched in 2021, the Hall of Fame is set to welcome another set of legends this year, as it continues to recognise and celebrate those who have made a significant contribution in the competition since its inception in 1992, by awarding them its highest individual honour.

Sir Alex Ferguson and ex-Arsenal boss Arsene Wenger became the first two managers to receive the privilege on Wednesday, thus becoming the inaugural members of the class of 2023.

It meant that Ferguson joined six of his former players that have previously been gifted the accolade – Eric Cantona, David Beckham and Roy Keane (all in 2021), plus Paul Scholes, Peter Schmeichel and Wayne Rooney (all in 2022).

Sir Alex inducted into Hall of Fame


Our former boss says he is proud of the recognition, as he joins Arsene Wenger in being honoured.

Now six more ex-Reds are in the running to add to that number, as they vie for the three remaining spots to be awarded later this year.

Having been in contention on the first two shortlists, Andy Cole, Michael Owen, Nemanja Vidic and Rio Ferdinand are nominated again. 

Gary Neville was also on the list in 2022 and is eligible to be added to the league’s pantheon of greats again this time around, while Michael Carrick has received a nod for the first time.
As was the case for the shortlists for the previous two classes, fans around the world are invited to vote for the three players who they want to see fill the vacant spots. 

Along with fan submissions, the inductees will be selected in collaboration with the Premier League Awards Panel and previously indicted Hall of Fame members. 

You have until 18:00 BST on Monday 6 April to have your say, and you can do so here, before the successful players are announced on Wednesday 3 May.

Here is the full 15-man shortlist for the next inductees into the Premier League Hall of Fame:

Tony Adams
Sol Campbell
Michael Carrick
Petr Cech
Andy Cole
Ashley Cole
Jermain Defoe
Les Ferdinand
Rio Ferdinand
Robbie Fowler
Gary Neville
Michael Owen
John Terry
Yaya Toure
Nemanja Vidic 

The shortlist was compiled by the Premier League based on the career statistics of players who meet the Hall-of-Fame selection criteria. The career statistics analysed include the number of appearances, goals, assists, clean sheets, plus individual and team honours.

To be eligible for the Premier League Hall of Fame, players must have been retired by 1 January 2023 and only a player’s Premier League career is considered in their candidacy, not their performances in other competitions during the Premier League era. 

Good luck to all of our former Reds who have been nominated!