Gareth Southgate

Which Reds have made England's squad?

Thursday 10 November 2022 14:00

England's squad for the 2022 FIFA World Cup in Qatar has been released, and we're pleased to say that three Reds are represented in Gareth Southgate's selection.

Defenders Harry Maguire and Luke Shaw, plus forward Marcus Rashford, will travel to the Middle East with the Three Lions, as England take on Iran, the USA and Wales in Group B of the competition.

All three Reds represented their country at Euro 2020, where England made it all the way to the final before suffering penalty heartbreak at Wembley against Italy.

It's also a second World Cup for each player, with Maguire and Rashford selected by Southgate in Russia four years ago, while Shaw was the youngest player at the 2014 tournament, aged just 18.

Jadon Sancho has not been included, while Southgate has also opted not to pick Dean Henderson, who is currently on loan with Nottingham Forest.

Nine Reds are now confirmed as going to the tournament, with Brazil best represented - Alex Telles, Antony, Casemiro and Fred are in Tite's squad.

Christian Eriksen has been picked as part of Denmark's provisional side, while Raphael Varane has made it into Didier Deschamps' France selection, despite missing recent weeks through injury.

The inclusion of Maguire, Rashford and Shaw for England maintains a long run of United players representing the Three Lions at the planet's most prestigious international tournament.

England have now qualified for 16 editions of the competition, choosing at least one Red in every single squad.

Maguire played a pivotal role in England's run to the 2018 semi-finals.


Jordan Pickford, Nick Pope, Aaron Ramsdale; Trent Alexander-Arnold, Conor Coady, Eric Dier, Harry Maguire, Luke Shaw, John Stones, Kieran Trippier, Kyle Walker, Ben White; Jude Bellingham, Conor Gallagher, Jordan Henderson, Mason Mount, Kalvin Phillips, Declan Rice; Phil Foden, Jack Grealish, Harry Kane, James Maddison, Marcus Rashford, Bukayo Saka, Raheem Sterling, Callum Wilson.


21 November (13:00 GMT): England v Iran
25 November (19:00 GMT): England v USA
29 November (19:00 GMT): Wales v England