United crowned Best Club at Women's Football Awards

Friday 26 May 2023 17:00

Manchester United scooped two honours at the inaugural Women’s Football Awards on Thursday evening.

The Reds received the Best Club accolade whilst Alessia Russo was crowned the Player of the Year.

With one game to go, Marc Skinner’s side are still in the Women's Super League title race and a successful FA Cup run took us to our first Women’s FA Cup final.

Polly Bancroft, head of women's football at United, collects the Best Club of the Year award.

Champions League qualification and our highest points haul in the WSL have already been achieved, and our goalkeeper Mary Earps has earned the ‘Golden Glove’ for the most clean sheets.

Russo is currently the team’s top goalscorer, tied with Leah Galton, after scoring 12 goals so far in all competitions and was also a crucial part of the England squad who triumphed at Euro 2022, netting four goals en route to the final.

Over 200,000 votes were cast in the public polls which were also ratified by a judging panel including Reds striker Nikita Parris, Sky Sports presenter Hayley McQueen and Real Madrid star Caroline Weir.

United saw off competition from Aston Villa, Brighton and Hove Albion, Glasgow Rangers, Southampton, Everton, Arsenal, Chelsea, Leeds United and Manchester City to be named the VISA Best Club of the Year.

Russo has scored valuable goals this season including a late winner against Arsenal at the Emirates.

Speaking about the award, head coach Skinner said: “This award is testament to the record-breaking season we have shared, leading to our first FA Cup Final and securing Champions League football for the first time in the club's history.

“The hard work and commitment of players and staff, together with the relentless support of our wonderful fans, has led us to our biggest points tally, most clean sheets and highest amount of goals scored in season.

“And we’re just getting started.”

Marc Skinner's side have broken club records this season, including our highest points tally in the WSL.

Russo was at the event in London to accept her Player of the Year award.

She was shortlisted alongside United team-mate Mary Earps, Arsenal's Beth Mead and Leah Williamson, Chelsea's Sam Kerr and Millie Bright, Manchester City's Chloe Kelly, Khadija Shaw and Lauren Hemp and Aston Villa's Rachel Daly.

United's final WSL game of the season, against Liverpool at Prenton Park, will kick off at 14:30 BST on Saturday. Live radio commentary will be available on MUTV, ManUtd.com and the app.