The magnitude of Mainoo's achievement

Monday 25 March 2024 10:43

Kobbie Mainoo is in esteemed company when it comes to making his England debut at such a tender age.

The 18-year-old's achievement is also another feather in the cap for the Manchester United Academy, and something everybody throughout the club is extremely proud of.

Our homegrown midfielder was not fazed at all about making his senior international bow against Brazil at Wembley, and was heavily involved in the game after coming off the bench, along with Reds team-mate Marcus Rashford.

As he prepares for a possible second cap, against Belgium on Tuesday night, it is well worth putting Kobbie's feats into some context, with Opta detailing just how impressive it is for a player of his age to make the step up.

Kobbie Mainoo receives his first England cap from manager Gareth Southgate.

In terms of United men representing England at Wembley, only the incomparable Duncan Edwards was younger than Kobbie's 18 years and 339 days. The iconic Busby Babe, who tragically lost his life in the Munich Air Disaster, featured against Scotland in 1955, when 183 days past his 18th birthday.

Rashford was four days older than Mainoo when appearing in a World Cup qualifier against Malta at the national stadium, in October 2016.

However, our no.37 was younger than Edwards when it comes to facing Brazil. Duncan had turned 19 when meeting the South Americans for the first time with Kobbie being the youngest-ever England man to tackle the five-time world champions. Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain is third on that particular list.

United have now become the first club to register 10 teenagers playing for the Three Lions, beating every other team in this field.

Arsenal are next on the list but are some way behind on six. Everton, who can count United goalscoring record-holder Wayne Rooney among their number, and Chelsea have produced four apiece.

It is another reason why our Academy is renowned as one of the best in the world.


6: Arsenal
4: Chelsea, Everton



Duncan Edwards (1955)
Lee Sharpe (1991)
Phil Neville (1996)
Wes Brown (1999)
Wayne Rooney (2004)
Phil Jones (2011)
Luke Shaw (2014)
Marcus Rashford (2016)
Mason Greenwood (2020)
Kobbie Mainoo (2024)

Stats courtesy of Opta.