United players with the 2017 Europa League trophy.

Europa League - How United won it in 2017

Wednesday 29 May 2019 13:00

Arsenal and Chelsea will battle it out in Baku to become the UEFA Europa League's first English winners since Manchester United overcame Ajax 2-0 in Stockholm two years ago.

While the two London clubs prepare for action in Azerbaijan tonight, we're remembering how the Reds secured European silverware at the end of the 2016/17 season.
Goals from Paul Pogba and Henrikh Mkhitaryan did the business for Jose Mourinho’s men, against an Ajax side featuring several players who were part of the Amsterdam club’s run to this season’s Champions League semi-finals - the likes of André Onana, Matthijs de Ligt, Frenkie de Jong, Lasse Schöne and Joël Veltman.
You can watch the strikes from that historic night in the Swedish capital below.
Relive our Europa League triumph Video

Relive our Europa League triumph

See the goals against Ajax that completed the club's all-time set of major trophies, in Stockholm two years ago...

The 2017 success meant United had completed the set of major trophies available to be won in the club's history, having already won the European Cup/UEFA Champions League three times (1968, 1999, 2008) and the European Cup Winners’ Cup in 1991, plus all three domestic competitions on numerous occasions.
The triumph also carried an emotional relevance too, with the match coming just two days after the tragic bombing at the Manchester Arena.
Chelsea and Arsenal’s contest represents the competition’s first all-English final since 1972, when Tottenham Hotspur defeated Wolves over two legs in the inaugural UEFA Cup campaign.
Good luck to both sides.
Reading this in our app? If not, you might miss some exclusive features not found on ManUtd.com. Download the Official App here.