United line-up explained

Tuesday 27 December 2022 19:00

Manchester United manager Erik ten Hag has picked his side for the festive fixture with Nottingham Forest.

The camp has been struck by illness in the lead up to our final home game of the calendar year, with Victor Lindelof and Scott McTominay both ruled out.

Harry Maguire is also still recovering from the sickness that kept him out of the midweek Carabao Cup victory over Burnley, so is only named among the substitutes. That means Luke Shaw looks set to partner Raphael Varane, back from his World Cup final disappointment with France, at the heart of a restructured back four, with Tyrell Malacia selected on the left.

Checking in Video

Checking in

The Reds arrive at Old Trafford ahead of the Premier League clash with Nottingham Forest...

Casemiro operated in defence against the Clarets but appears more likely to partner Christian Eriksen in the engine room, while Antony replaces Alejandro Garnacho. David De Gea returns in goal, with Tom Heaton on the bench, rather than Martin Dubravka, who kept a clean sheet in the cup tie.

Forest have included ex-Red Jesse Lingard in their starting line-up while Wales international Wayne Hennessey is between the sticks, replacing ineligible United loanee Dean Henderson.

This is the first meeting between the clubs this century, with the last Old Trafford clash on Boxing Day in 1998, our Treble-winning campaign. 

“We had illnesses during the week," Erik ten Hag told Amazon Prime Video. "Harry Maguire, Victor Lindelof and Scott McTominay. Harry made it and recovered but is not fit to start, that is why he is on the bench. That is why we have to be a little bit creative.

"'Yesterday, we took the decision but then we waited in case they recovered overnight. Harry is definitely better than he was yesterday but the other two are not available. That is the reason why we preferred this line-up.''

United: De Gea; Wan-Bissaka, Varane, Shaw, Malacia; Casemiro, Eriksen; Antony, Fernandes (c), Rashford; Martial.

Substitutes: Heaton, Bennett, Maguire, Williams, Fred, Iqbal, van de Beek, Garnacho, Elanga.