Manchester United manager Ole Gunnar Solskjaer.

Ole announces side to take on City

Manchester United manager Ole Gunnar Solskjaer has announced his side to play in Saturday's Manchester derby.

The boss has made two changes from the midweek victory over Tottenham Hotspur, with Luke Shaw and Anthony Martial replacing Ashley Young and Mason Greenwood in the starting XI.

The selection means Shaw will start his first Premier League game since August having missed the majority of the intervening period through injury.

Martial picked up a knock during the week which meant he was forced to sit out Wednesday’s clash with Spurs, but the Frenchman has recovered in time to make his eighth Manchester derby appearance.

Asked about the two changes ahead of the game, Ole told MUTV:
“Yeah we want to win the game, of course. Mason did well, Ash did well, but Mason is a young boy and it was his first Premier League start of the season on Wednesday.

“Ashy, of course, is getting on a little bit and I don't think it would have been fair to play him again with only two days of recovery. Luke is ready.”

It means the Reds will again line up with David De Gea between the sticks and he maintains his record of playing in every Premier League game so far this campaign.
Ahead of him, Aaron Wan-Bissaka and Harry Maguire will play in their first Manchester derby, along with Lindelof and the returning Shaw, who make up a four-man defence.

Scott McTominay and Fred have been selected to start in the middle of the park and they will hope to continue their budding relationship.

In the offensive areas, Daniel James will start on the right of a dangerous trio behind central striker Martial.

Academy graduates, and boyhood Reds, Jesse Lingard and Marcus Rashford finish off the side and would love nothing more than to get on the scoresheet at the Etihad today.

Ole explains the starting XI against CityVideo


City: Ederson; Walker, Stones, Fernandinho, Angelino; Rodri, De Bruyne, D.Silva (c); B.Silva, Jesus, Sterling.

Bravo, Otamendi, Cancelo, Mendy, Gundogan, Foden, Mahrez.

United: De Gea, Wan-Bissaka, Lindelof, Maguire (c), Shaw; Fred, McTominay; James, Lingard, Rashford; Martial.

Subs: Romero, Tuanzebe, Williams, Young, Andreas, Mata, Greenwood.

The match kicks off at 17:30 GMT and you can follow live updates in's Match Centre and in our Official App