Reds nominated for Premier League Hall of Fame

Wednesday 23 March 2022 16:00

Twelve former Manchester United players have been named on a 25-man shortlist of greats eligible to become the next inductees into the Premier League Hall of Fame.

After our all-time top goalscorer Wayne Rooney and ex-Arsenal captain Patrick Vieira became the first two members of 2022’s class earlier today (Wednesday), the league has now released a list of the nominees in contention to fill this year’s final six spots. 

You can now have your say here or via the Premier League app, with just under half of the names able to join Rooney – plus inaugural-year inductees David Beckham, Eric Cantona and Roy Keane – as former Reds who could have their respective careers in the division recognised and celebrated.

Rooney enters Premier League Hall of Fame


Our all-time leading goalscorer becomes the fourth former Red to receive the honour from English football’s top flight.

Era-defining goalkeepers Peter Schmeichel and Edwin van der Sar are two of three players to have played the position on the list, alongside former Chelsea and Arsenal stopper Petr Cech. 

Defenders Patrice Evra, Rio Ferdinand, Gary Neville and Nemanja Vidic have all been recognised for their contributions to the division that included being part of a Reds defence that won three Premier League titles in a row between the 2006/07 and 2008/2009 seasons. 

Paul Scholes was also in that side of course, with the 11-time title winner nominated too, as is the case for United goalscorers of the past Andy Cole, Michael Owen, Teddy Sheringham, Ruud van Nistelrooy and Robin van Persie. 


You can cast your vote now at and via the official Premier League app up until 21:00 BST on Sunday 3 April, before the successful nominees are announced later in the month. 

Each inductee will receive a personalised medallion, engraved with the year of their induction, and a £10,000 donation will be made by the Premier League to a charity of the player’s choice.

Amazingly, there are 12 Reds on the 25-man shortlist for the Premier League Hall of Fame. Who will you be voting for?poll

Amazingly, there are 12 Reds on the 25-man shortlist for the Premier League Hall of Fame. Who will you be voting for?


Tony Adams, Sergio Aguero, Sol Campbell, Petr Cech, Andy Cole, Ashley Cole, Didier Drogba, Patrice Evra, Robbie Fowler, Rio Ferdinand, Les Ferdinand, Vincent Kompany, Matt Le Tissier, Gary Neville, Michael Owen, Peter Schmeichel, Paul Scholes, Teddy Sheringham, John Terry, Edwin van der Sar, Ruud van Nistelrooy, Robin van Persie, Yaya Toure, Nemanja Vidic and Ian Wright.

The shortlist was compiled by the Premier League based on the career statistics of players who meet the Hall of Fame selection criteria. The career statistics analysed include the number of appearances, goals, assists, clean sheets and individual and team honours.

To be eligible for the Premier League Hall of Fame, players must have been retired by 1 January 2022 and only a player’s Premier League career is considered in their candidacy, not their performances in other competitions during the Premier League era. 

Good luck to all of our former Reds who have been nominated!