Garnacho's wondergoal voted United's best Goal of the Season

Tuesday 11 June 2024 12:00

Alejandro Garnacho's outrageous overhead kick against Everton has been voted as Manchester United's greatest-ever Goal of the Season.

Over the last week, we've been asking fans to vote in our knockout tournament, which included every winner of the club's Goal of the Season award since its inception in 2005/06.

The final came down to two eerily similar efforts by Garnacho and Wayne Rooney, separated by 12 years but linked by outrageous levels of confidence and creativity.

Thousands of supporters took part, and Garnacho's strike at Goodison Park emerged as the winner, earning 63 per cent of the votes to Rooney's 37 per cent.

All the Angles: Garnacho v Everton Video

All the Angles: Garnacho v Everton

Watch Alejandro Garnacho’s Goal-of-the-Season contender again and again and again – you know you want to…

Garnacho's goal was an instant classic and dominated numerous end-of-season awards.

Not only did the Argentina international claim the club's own Goal of the Season prize, but he also earned the same commendation from the Premier League and BBC's Match of the Day.

Those who voted for Rooney's effort might argue that his stunner against Manchester City in February 2011 was a more important goal – it won a Manchester derby and was a vital moment on the way to our record-breaking 19th title.

But in March, Rooney told the BBC that he thought Garnacho's was better, as his strike came partly off his shin. Though the Merseysider did add: "It's actually harder to score with your shin!"

Two other classic goals were in contention, heading into the semi-finals of our Goal of the Season tournament.

In our first semi-final, Rooney's overhead kick eliminated Paul Scholes' legendary volley away at Aston Villa in 2006.

Then, in semi-final two, Marcus Rashford's remarkable free-kick against Chelsea at Stamford Bridge (2019) was unable to halt Garnacho's march to victory.

United's Goal of the Season: Every winner


Garnacho, Ronaldo, Rooney, Fernandes and more: here's every goal that's been honoured by the fans.

Initially, we broke the 19 Goal of the Season winners into four groups, and asked supporters to choose the best from each, to create our semi-final line-up.

Scholes, Rooney, Rashford and Garnacho won those polls, of course, but there was strong support for several other efforts.

The closest fight was among the first five winners of our Goal of the Season award, from 2005/06 to 2009/10, where Scholes narrowly edged out Cristiano Ronaldo's 40-yard rocket against Porto and Wayne Rooney's brilliant counter-attacking finish at Arsenal in 2010.

There was also strong support for Henrikh Mkhitaryan's scorpion kick (2016/17) and Anthony Martial's solo goal on his debut against Liverpool (2015/16).