Fernandez named Under-23s Player of the Year

Wednesday 11 May 2022 18:15

Alvaro Fernandez is the winner of Manchester United's Denzil Haroun Reserve-Team Player of the Year award for 2021/22.

The youngster will pick up the trophy at Old Trafford on Wednesday evening before the club’s Under-18s side take on Nottingham Forest in the FA Youth Cup final.

Fernandez, who joined United from Real Madrid in 2020, will be presented with the award by Nick Cox, head of Academy, and Harry Maguire, club captain.

The 19-year-old has regularly trained with the first team in recent weeks after a stellar season at youth level, and was first named in a first-team matchday squad for April’s Premier League match against Chelsea.

Fernandez has been in several first-team matchday squads in recent weeks.

Cox said: “Alvaro has been a standout performer from a really strong group of players within our Under-23s team.

“We deliberately keep this age group young and that is certainly evidenced by the fact that Alvaro has won this award despite only turning 19 in March.

“Alvaro has developed a lot this season, playing an important role in Premier League 2, the Youth League, the EFL Trophy and also progressing with Spain’s Under-19s.

“He has consistently risen to the various challenges that have been put in front of him and should be very proud of how he has adapted to English football.

“Alvaro has also been an excellent role model and support for his team-mates, displaying all of the characteristics that the Academy want to see from our young players.

“The opportunities that he has earnt himself to travel with the first-team and experience that environment are extremely well deserved through his hard work and dedication."

Fernandez with our new Jimmy Murphy Young Player of the Year, Alejandro Garnacho.

Fernandez is the first Spanish player to be named Denzil Haroun Player of the Year. Congratulations, Alvaro!

Denzil Haroun Reserve-Team Player of the Year winners

1989/90: Mark Robins
1990/91: Jason Lydiate
1991/92: Brian Carey
1992/93: Colin McKee
1993/94: Nicky Butt
1994/95: Kevin Pilkington
1995/96: Michael Appleton
1996/97: Michael Clegg
1997/98: Michael Twiss
1998/99: Mark Wilson
2000/01: Michael Stewart
2001/02: John O'Shea
2002/03: Darren Fletcher
2003/04: David Jones
2004/05: Sylvan Ebanks-Blake
2005/06: Giuseppe Rossi
2006/07: Kieran Lee
2007/08: Richard Eckersley
2008/09: James Chester
2009/10: Ritchie De Laet
FA Youth Cup: The story so far Video

FA Youth Cup: The story so far

Must-see | The Under-18s squad talk us through the highlights of our journey to the FA Youth Cup final...

2010/11: Oliver Gill
2011/12: Michael Keane
2012/13: Adnan Januzaj
2013/14: Saidy Janko
2014/15: Andreas Pereira
2015/16: Cameron Borthwick-Jackson
2016/17: Axel Tuanzebe
2017/18: Demi Mitchell
2018/19: Tahith Chong
2019/20: James Garner
2020/21: Hannibal
2021/22: Alvaro Fernandez