Man Utd players celebrate scoring against Everton in February.

Shaw and Fernandes in PFA Team of the Year

Friday 04 June 2021 17:00

Two Manchester United players have been named in the PFA’s Premier League Team of the Year for 2020/21.

Luke Shaw is included at left-back, after a stellar campaign in which he contributed a goal and five assists from 32 top-flight appearances.

The 25-year-old’s remarkable attacking consistency and defensive composure had already caught the eye with United’s players, with the dressing room naming him their Player of the Year for the second time in three seasons.

Study Shaw’s seven goal involvements this season Video

Study Shaw’s seven goal involvements this season

With six assists and one goal, Luke earned great praise for his attacking contributions this season…

And another Reds’ award winner is represented in the all-star XI, with Bruno Fernandes taking his place in midfield at the end of a fantastic first full term in English football.

The former Sporting man once again claimed the prestigious Sir Matt Busby Player of the Year trophy and he was hard to ignore in a league-wide vote by the players, having scored 18 and set up 12 goals in helping Ole Gunnar Solskjaer’s side to a comfortable second-placed finish.

Shaw and Fernandes are the only non-Manchester City representatives in the backline and midfield of the team, with the champions dominating the side.

Ederson is the goalkeeper, while Joao Cancelo, John Stones and individual award frontrunner Ruben Dias join Shaw in defence.

Fernandes, meanwhile, is part of a midfield trio with Kevin De Bruyne and Ilkay Gundogan.

The league’s top goalscorer and assister Harry Kane is joined up front by Tottenham team-mate Heung-min Son and Liverpool hotshot Mohamed Salah.

All 28 goals by our Portuguese magnifico Video

All 28 goals by our Portuguese magnifico

With 28 goals to his name, it's easy to understand why Bruno was voted our Sir Matt Busby Player of the Year...


Luke and Bruno are the third and fourth current Reds to have been selected in a Team of the Year while with the club, after David De Gea (2012/13, 2014/15, 2015/16, 2016/17, 2017/18) and Paul Pogba (2018/19). Juan Mata and Nemanja Matic were picked while with Chelsea, while Shaw has previously been recognised, but as a Southampton player.

United have now had 35 different players make the team in the Premier League era, with Gary Neville and Ryan Giggs selected on six different occasions each.

Pogba made it into the 2018/19 side, after scoring 13 times from midfield.


GK: Ederson (Manchester City)
RB: Joao Cancelo (Manchester City)
CB: John Stones (Manchester City)
CB: Ruben Dias (Manchester City)
LB: Luke Shaw (Manchester United)
MF: Kevin de Bruyne (Manchester City)
MF: Ilkay Gundogan (Manchester City)
MF: Bruno Fernandes (Manchester United)
FW: Harry Kane (Tottenham)
FW: Mo Salah (Liverpool)
FW: Heung-min Son (Tottenham)

Season Reviews: